Alstom Grid – Power Reliably from the Socket

What is the greatest surprise for visitors to the Alstom Grid plant in Mönchengladbach? Maybe they are impressed by the history of the location, going back over a hundred years and the site of a number of companies? Or perhaps the many years on the market as the biggest supplier of transformers for German power stations? Or is it the unexpected joinery? Because the coiled copper conductors in the transformers are insulated with wood, a task mainly performed by hand. Is it the high testing hall with the artificial lightning? Or the fact that Alstom's business keeps booming, even in times of crisis, because energy drives everything?

In Germany, if you hear from the media that the power grid needs expanding, then Alstom Grid is bound to be involved somehow. That's because transformers have been made at the production site of the French conglomerate in Mönchengladbach for more than 100 years. Transformers are needed for any type of power transmission. Little boys with train sets are familiar with transformers, which are used to reduce the voltage. With big overhead power lines with high voltages and losses over long distances, transformers ensure that there is constant electrical potential in the grid. In Germany, the grid is very stable. Large-scale power failures like in American cities are improbable. When there are discussions about power grids in Germany, the topics are different ones: The power stations and the main supply areas used to be well connected. In the 1960s and 1970s, the power lines were installed by the power generation companies to the consumer, from the coal-fired power plants in the Ruhr region and the Cologne lowland or the nuclear power stations in the Rhine-Main areas, to the industrial estates and cities. The shift towards renewable energy has meant a change of direction. Offshore wind parks are to be erected by the coastlines. But in the coastal areas, the demand for electricity is low. The greatest demand tends to be in the industrial regions of southern Germany. Today's grid isn't prepared for this. There isn't an efficient transmission network from north to south.

The nuclear phase-out and the move towards renewable energy sources also provide Alstom with new opportunities. They can build transformers for new power lines, as well as for new power stations, including combined heat and power plants. Wherever power is transmitted, Alstom is involved. Its biggest customers include E.ON, RWE, and Deutsche Bahn, which has its own power grid. The first transformer from Mönchengladbach was built in 1904. In 1884, Max Schorch founded a factory for electric motors, dynamos, arc lamps and electrical insulation for the textiles industry in Rheydt, which is now part of Mönchengladbach. The Mönchengladbach location itself at Rheinstrasse has a long and varied history. In 1925, the plant became a public limited company, before being destroyed at the end of the Second World War. In 1959, the factory was absorbed into Continental Elektroindustrie AG and then became a subsidiary of AEG in 1990. In 1994, AEG sold its entire power transmission and distribution division to Alstom, and then the plant was taken over by the French conglomerate Areva in 2004. In summer 2010, Alstom bought back the power transmission division. It is now an independent line of business called Alstom Grid. In 2008, €16 million was invested in the company, including the building of a new production hall, which tripled capacity. At the former Schorch plant in Mönchengladbach, up to 400 employees are now working again in two shifts. Before it was taken over by Areva, the workforce had shrunk to around 200. Now, up to 120 transformers are manufactured every year. A quarter of the transformers in Germany come from Alstom Grid in Mönchengladbach.

The plant has established itself as a key player on the market. Its products are well known and valued. In 10 years, more than 1,000 transformers have been produced – with a total power output of more than 100,000 megavolt amperes (MVA). When demand rocketed between 2008 and 2010, Alstom was the main supplier for the German power stations. E.ON ordered transformers from Mönchengladbach for its new power station in in Datteln, as did RWE for Lingen (gas) and Weisweiler (coal). In the affiliated group, the plant on the Lower Rhine supplies the German and the French market, as well as the Middle East. It has just received a major order from Iraq. But because transformers are heavy, it is better if they are manufactured close to their final destination.

Nevertheless, the German expertise and workmanship are particularly valued. Each transformer is unique, tailored to its task and location. Manufacturing a transformer takes several months. Much of the work still needs to be done by hand, and experienced employees are needed for this. In Mönchengladbach, all the workers are skilled. The experience – especially of the wire coilers – is irreplaceable. It is primarily the employees who achieve the punctuality and delivery reliability of almost 100% – a fantastic score.

The finished transformers are transported by lorry on roads and on the autobahn, for example to the port in Duisburg. From there, they sail to their final destinations and each one makes the power supply in Europe that little bit more reliable. But Alstom is also a leader in social responsibility in Germany: The share of severely disabled among the company's employees is 6.4%, and special workshops take place for employees who are hearing impaired.


ALSTOM Grid GmbH, Bereich Schorch Transformatoren
Werksleiter Dr. Jochen Schwarz
Rheinstraße 73
41065 Mönchengladbach

Tel.: 02161 944 0

X

Alstom Grid – damit der Strom sicher aus der Steckdose kommt

Was ist die größte Überraschung für den Besucher im Alstom Grid-Werk in Mönchengladbach? Beeindruckt ihn die über hundertjährige Standortgeschichte mit der wechselvollen Firmengeschichte? Die jahrelange Marktstellung als größter Ausrüster mit Transformatoren deutscher Kraftwerke? Oder ist es die nicht erwartete Holzwerkstatt? Denn mit einem hohen Anteil an Handarbeit werden die aufgewickelten Kupferleitungen der Transformatoren mit Holzfolien isoliert. Ist es die hohe Versuchshalle mit den künstlichen Blitzen? Oder die Tatsache, dass Alstom auch in Krisenzeiten volle Auftragsbücher hat, denn Energie treibt alles an?

Wenn wir in den Medien hören, dass in Deutschland das Stromnetz ausgebaut werden muss, dann ist auch Alstom Grid im Spiel. Denn am Produktionsstandort des französischen Weltkonzerns in Mönchengladbach werden seit über 100 Jahren Transformatoren gebaut. Transformatoren braucht man für jede Art der Stromübertragung. Kleine Jungen kennen den Trafo von ihrer Modelleisenbahn, mit dem die Haushaltsspannung verringert wird. Bei den großen Überlandleitungen mit hohen Spannungen und Verlusten auf langen Entfernungen sorgen Transformatoren für konstante Spannungen im deutschen Leitungsnetz. Hierzulande verfügen wir über eine hohe Netzstabilität. Flächendeckende Stromausfälle wie in amerikanischen Städten sind bei uns eher unwahrscheinlich. Wenn jetzt über Stromnetze bei uns diskutiert wird, geht es um anderes: Bisher waren die Kraftwerke und die Hauptabnahmegebiete gut miteinander verbunden. In den 1960er/70er Jahren wurde die Leitungen vom Erzeuger zum Verbraucher errichtet, von der Steinkohle im Ruhrgebiet, der Braunkohle in der Kölner Bucht oder den AKWs in der Rhein-Main-Schiene zu den Industriegebieten und Städten. Der Energiewandel bedeutet eine Richtungsänderung. An der Küste sollen Offshore-Windparks entstehen. In der Küstenregion gibt es aber nur eine geringe Stromnachfrage. Die herrscht eher in den Industrieregionen Süddeutschlands. Das jetzige Stromnetz ist nicht darauf vorbereitet. Von Nord nach Süd gibt es kein effizientes Übertragungsnetz.

Der Atomausstieg und die Energiewende betreffen auch die Mönchengladbacher. Sie können Transformatoren für neue Stromleitungen bauen, ebenso für neue Kraftwerke bis hin zu Blockheizkraftwerken. Überall, wo es um Stromübertragung geht, ist Alstom im Spiel. Zu den größten Kunden zählen E.ON, RWE, aber auch die Bahn, die ein eigenes Stromnetz unterhält. Der erste Trafo aus Gladbach wurde 1904 gebaut. Max Schorch hatte 1884 in Rheydt eine Fabrik für Elektromotoren, Dynamomaschinen, Bogenlampen und elektrischem Isolationsmaterial für die Textilindustrie gegründet. Der Standort Mönchengladbach an der Rheinstraße hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte. 1925 wurde das Werk in eine AG umgewandelt und zum Ende des Zweiten Welkrieges zerstört. Im Jahre 1959 ging die Fabrik in der Continental Elektroindustrie AG auf und wurde 1990 schließlich ein AEG-Tochterunternehmen. 1994 wurde die komplette Sparte für Stromübertragung und Verteilung von AEG an Alstom verkauft, dann gehörte das Werk 2004 zum französischen Konzern Areva. Im Sommer 2010 kam der Bereich Stromübertragung wieder zu Alstom, selbstständig als Konzernbereich Alstom Grid, der englische Begriff für Netz. 2008 wurden 16 Millionen Euro unter anderem in eine neue Fertigungshalle investiert, die Kapazität wurde damit verdreifacht. Im Mönchengladbacher Ex-Schorch-Werk sind wieder bis zu 400 Mitarbeiter in zwei Schichten beschäftigt. Vor der Übernahme durch Areva war die Belegschaft auf rund 200 reduziert worden. Heute werden bis zu 120 Transformatoren jährlich gefertigt. Jeder vierte Transformator in Deutschland stammt von Alstom Grid in Mönchengladbach.

Das Werk hat seinen Platz am Markt behauptet und ausgebaut. Die Produkte sind bekannt und geschätzt. In zehn Jahren wurde mehr als 1000 Transformatoren mit einer Gesamtleistung von mehr als 100.000 MVA produziert. Beim Nachfrageboom von 2008 bis 2010 war Alstom Hauptlieferant für die deutschen Kraftwerke. E.ON bestellte für das neue Kraftwerk in Datteln ebenso Transformatoren aus Gladbach wie RWE für Lingen (Gas) und Weisweiler (Braunkohle). Im Konzernverbund beliefert das Werk am Niederrhein den deutschen und französischen Markt, ebenso den Nahen und Mittleren Osten. Gerade ging aus dem Irak ein großer Auftrag ein. Aufgrund des hohen Gewichts von Transformatoren bietet sich eine standortnahe Fertigung an.

Trotzdem werden vor allem das Know-how und die Wertarbeit aus Deutschland geschätzt. Jeder Transformator ist ein Unikat, zugeschnitten auf seinen Einsatzort und seine Aufgabe. Die Herstellung zieht sich über mehrere Monate. Damit ist immer noch viel Handarbeit verbunden, für die man erfahrene Mitarbeiter braucht. In Mönchengladbach gibt es ausschließlich Facharbeiter. Die Erfahrung gerade der Wickler ist nicht zu ersetzen. In erster Linie sind es die Mitarbeiter, die Pünktlichkeit und Liefertreue zu nahezu 100 Prozent erreichen – ein Spitzenwert.

Die fertigen Transformatoren werden mit Schwerlastern über Landstraßen und die Autobahn zum Beispiel zum Duisburger Hafen transportiert – und machen an ihren Einsatzorten die Stromversorgung in Europa jedesmal ein Stückchen sicherer. Aber auch sozial ist Alstom in Deutschland führend: Die Schwerbehindertenquote im Unternehmen liegt bei 6,4 Prozent, für die gehörlosen Mitarbeiter werden eigens Workshops durchgeführt.

 

ALSTOM Grid GmbH, Bereich Schorch Transformatoren
Werksleiter Dr. Jochen Schwarz
Rheinstraße 73
41065 Mönchengladbach

Tel.: 02161 944 0

www.alstom.de