bofrost* – European frozen foods market leader from the Niederrhein Region

The idea is simple but ingenious. All products are shock-frozen on site immediately after being harvested and kept in a closed cold chain until delivered to home freezers. Even if bofrost* has never jumped on the organic bandwagon, the deep freeze group from Straelen wants to ensure the highest quality standards at all times. It focuses on the best farming and catching areas. The broccoli, for example, comes from Ecuador, since there are practically no harmful insects on the plateau, so no pesticides are needed. bofrost’s* famous peas come from Sweden. Here the light of long, summer Nordic days together with the cool, damp sea climate provide the perfect conditions for the peas to grow. Thanks to the special, gentle shock-freezing process, all the important vitamins, nutrients and freshness are preserved. Spinach loses 60 percent of its nutrients and vitamins very soon after harvesting, but if frozen immediately, it keeps all its valuable contents. Top quality combined with a closed cool chain and first-class service remain the key ingredients of the company’s success today, especially since the large retail chains and even the discount supermarkets began offering deep-frozen products. The cool chain is broken when the products are removed from the freezer in the supermarket. Only the Direct Service, with which the products are delivered to homes in special vehicles, quasi moving freezers, guarantees top quality. The fish is frozen immediately after being caught, the meat right after being slaughtered, the fruit and vegetables after harvesting – and, after gently thawing in the kitchen, they are as fresh as on the first day.

Something that we now take for granted was a sensation in the beginning. The company’s founder Josef H. Boquoi came up with the idea back in 1966 when he was driving through the country with ice-cream. Boquoi, who was born in 1934 in Issum, learnt the retail business from the bottom up. His parents already had a shop in the Cologne region. During the war his father drove from farm to farm. Josef Boquoi himself had learned the coffee-roasting business. During his tours across the region with ice-cream many farmers paid with natural produce, which Boquoi stored in his cold storage – and which therefore remained fresh. This was the key experience for this subsequent frozen foods company. Deep-frozen fish fingers and cream spinach were already launched on the market in Germany in 1957. The triumphant success of refrigerators and freezers in the land of the economic miracle created the domestic foundations for the unique success story of bofrost*, the abbreviated form of Boquoi-Frost. Is there a market for top-quality conserved groceries? The market leader can still answer this question with a resounding ‘yes’.

Thanks to a clever municipal business location policy, bofrost* moved from Issum to Straelen, and there is still enough space available there for further expansion today. But the groceries that bofrost* stores and packages in its cold storage warehouses don’t just come from the fields and greenhouses in the region: they now come from all round the world. Rotterdam is just a stone’s throw away from Straelen. To this day bofrost* is still expanding in Germany, and the market leader supplies almost three million households in Germany. Two catalogues – each spring and autumn – with over 400 products inform the customers about the product range and new offers. bofrost has also been a pioneer in the niche market for gluten and lactose-free deep-frozen foods for a long time. So far the company has expanded to twelve European countries. The Italian subsidiary, founded in 1987, is the largest among them.

9,804 employees work for bofrost* across Europe; 6,290 of them in Germany. Most of them are drivers on permanent contracts whose philosophy of customer loyalty is something special. To be precise, there are 5,081 sales vehicles driving to 4.1 million customer households for bofrost* in Europe every day – in Germany alone it is 2.7 million households. There are about 600 employees in the headquarters in Straelen alone, from warehouse staff to test chefs. The company’s turnover is 1.205 billion euros, 65 percent of which is generated in Germany (770 million euros). Today Michael Boquoi, son of the company founder, and Dr. Thomas Stoffmehl are in charge of the company. And despite all the commercial success, the company remains committed to the local region, its responsibility for the environment and its social responsibility. A new position has just been created in the company for sustainability. bofrost* has also been a firm partner of “Ein Herz für Kinder e.V.” for five years and donated one million to this children’s aid organization last year alone.


bofrost* Dienstleistungs GmbH & Co. KG
An der Ölmühle 6
47638 Straelen

Tel.: 02834 707-0
Fax.: 02834 707-594



As at: April 2012

X

bofrost* – Europäischer Tiefkühl-Marktführer vom Niederrhein

Die Idee ist einfach und genial. Alle Produkte werden erntefrisch direkt vor Ort schockgefroren und in einer geschlossenen Kühlkette bis zur heimischen Tiefkühltruhe geliefert. Auch wenn bofrost* nie auf den Bio-Zug aufgesprungen ist, geht es dem Tiefkühl-Konzern aus Straelen immer um höchste Qualität. Beste Anbau- und Fanggebiete stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. So stammt der Brokkoli beispielsweise aus Ecuardor, da es auf der Hochebene so gut wie keine schädlichen Insekten gibt und damit auch keine Schädlingsmittel eingesetzt werden müssen. Die bekannten bofrost*Erbsen kommen aus Schweden. Hier sorgt das Licht langer nordischer Sommertage zusammen mit dem kühlen, feuchten Seeklima dafür, dass die Erbsen bestens wachsen können. Durch das besondere, schonende Schockfrostverfahren bleiben alle wichtigen Vitamine, Nährstoffe und die Frische erhalten. Spinat verliert nach der Ernte schnell 60 Prozent seiner Wertstoffe, sofort eingefroren behält er alle seine wertvollen Inhaltsstoffe. Höchste Qualität gepaart mit einer geschlossenen Tiefkühlkette und erstklassigem Service ist das Erfolgsrezept noch heute, insbesondere seitdem die großen Handelsketten und selbst die Discounter Tiefkühlkost anbieten. Bei der Herausnahme aus der Truhe im Supermarkt wird die Kühlkette unterbrochen. Nur der Direktservice, bei dem mit speziellen Fahrzeugen, quasi fahrenden Kühltruhen, die Waren nach Hause geliefert werden, garantiert, beste Qualität zu erhalten. Der Fisch wird direkt beim Fang, das Fleisch bei der Schlachtung, Obst und Gemüse bei der Ernte, Fertiggerichte nach dem Kochen eingefroren – und sind nach dem schonenden Auftauen in der Küche frisch wie am ersten Tag.

Was heute selbstverständlich ist, war anfangs eine Sensation. Die Idee kam Firmengründer Josef H. Boquoi bereits 1966, als er mit Speiseeis übers Land fuhr. Boquoi, 1934 in Issum geboren, hatte das Geschäft des Kaufmanns von der Pike auf gelernt. Schon seine Eltern hatten im Kölner Raum einen Laden. Während des Krieges fuhr der Vater von Hof zu Hof. Josef Boquoi selber erlernte das Kaffeerösten. Bei seinen Touren mit Speiseeis übers Land bezahlten viele Landwirte mit Naturalien, die Boquoi in seinem Kühlhaus lagerte – und deshalb lange frisch blieben. Das Schlüsselerlebnis für sein späteres Tiefkühl-Unternehmen. 1957 kamen bereits Fischstäbchen und Rahmspinat in Deutschland tiefgefroren auf den Markt. Der Siegeszug der Kühlschränke und Tiefkühltruppen im Wirtschaftswunderland sorgte für die häusliche Basis der einmaligen Erfolgsgeschichte von bofrost*, der Kurzform von Boquoi-Frost. Gibt es einen Markt für top-konservierte Lebensmittel? Diese Frage kann der Marktführer bis heute mit einem klaren Ja beantworten.

Durch eine kluge kommunale Ansiedlungspolitik kam bofrost* von Issum nach Straelen, dort ist auch heute noch genügend Fläche für eine weitere Expansion vorhanden. Aber nicht nur von den Äckern und Gewächshäusern der Region kommen die Lebensmittel, die bofrost* in seinen Kühlhäusern lagert und verpackt. Sie kommen mittlerweile aus der ganzen Welt, von Rotterdam ist es bis Straelen ein Katzensprung. Bis heute expandiert bofrost* in Deutschland, beliefert als Marktführer knapp drei Millionen Haushalte in Deutschland. Zwei Kataloge mit über 400 Produkten -  jeweils zum Frühjahr und Herbst– informieren die Kunden über das Angebot und Neuheiten. Längst ist bofrost auch im Nischenmarkt mit gluten- und lactosefreier Tiefkühlkost Pionier. Bis heute ist das Unternehmen in zwölf europäische Länder expandiert. Der italienische Ableger, 1987 gegründet, ist dabei der größte.

Europaweit arbeiten 9.804 Mitarbeiter für bofrost*, davon 6.290 in Deutschland. Die meisten von ihnen sind festangestellte Fahrer, die für eine Philosophie der besonderen Kundenbindung stehen. Genau 5.081 Verkaufsfahrzeuge fahren für bofrost* in Europa jeden Tag 4,1 Millionen Kundenhaushalte an – allein in Deutschland sind es 2,7 Millionen Haushalte. In der Zentrale in Straelen selbst sind etwa 600 Angestellte tätig, vom Lagerarbeiter bis zum Versuchskoch. Der Umsatz liegt bei 1,205 Milliarden Euro, zu 65 Prozent in Deutschland (770 Millionen Euro) erzielt. Heute leiten Michael Boquoi, Sohn des Gründers, und Dr. Thomas Stoffmehl das Unternehmen. Bei allem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg steht das Unternehmen auch zu seiner lokalen Verankerung und seiner Verantwortung für Umwelt und soziales Engagement. Im Unternehmen wurde gerade eine neue Position für nachhaltiges Handeln geschaffen.Seit fünf Jahren ist bofrost* bereits fester Partner von „Ein Herz für Kinder e.V.“ und spendete allein vergangenes Jahr eine Million Euro für die Kinderhilfsorganisation.

Stand: April 2012

bofrost* Dienstleistungs GmbH & Co. KG
An der Ölmühle 6
47638 Straelen

Tel.: 02834 707-0
Fax.: 02834 707-594


service@bofrost.de

www.bofrost.de