A life of clay

In May 2009, the Swiss architect Peter Zumthor was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize, architecture's answer to the Nobel Prize, for the newly built Kolumba diocesan museum in Cologne. The interior contained a 28-metre long and 14-metre high wall that was to be coated without any expansion joints that would spoil its appearance. The Cologne-based company Stuck & Akustik Weck chose to use clay plaster from Claytec in the town of Viersen. The light grey clay plaster surfaces, totalling 6,500 square metres, set standards both for the industry and for the viewing public. The sand crystals in the clay plaster glitter if they catch the light right.

Clay plaster is now in demand around the world. The historic Al Jahili fort in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, for example, is one of the projects that Peter Breidenbach and Claytec can lay claim to. The name of the company that Breidenbach founded in 1984 highlights the medium that the company produces and works with: the technology of clay. For Peter Breidenbach, working with clay is both nostalgia and avant garde. Clay is an ancient cultural technique that should not have been allowed to fall out of use. Clay plaster, which can resist mobile phone radiation, is today a completely modern material. Its use promotes protection of the environment, sustainability and health. More than any other building material, clay fulfils today's requirements for ecological compatibility. Clay is available locally, its manufacture requires little energy, and it does not emit any pollutants. Clay plaster regulates the humidity, provides good acoustic insulation and stores heat or solar radiation in a room.

There are a lot of arguments in favour of clay, but for many years it was not considered remotely modern or self-evident to work with it. Everything started at Breidenbach's parents' farm. Hermann and Inge Breidenbach had been running an architecture firm in Viersen since 1960 and had always been committed to the preservation of ancient monuments. In 1975, in their spare time, the parents started restoring a half-timbered farmhouse in Viersen known as the Tho-Rieth-Hof and built in 1661. In 1978 they started their first tests in working with clay. Peter Breidenbach, 15 years old at the time, and his school friend Ulrich Röhlen, who was a few years older, were involved from the very beginning. Today, Peter Breidenbach's older brother Martin lives and works as an architect on the farm. His architecture firm, founded in 1987, plans new residential properties but is also active in the preservation of monuments and in restoring old buildings while ensuring that aspects of energy consumption and ecological compatibility are not neglected. A current example is Liedberg Castle. Naturally, Martin Breidenbach also works with clay.

Peter Breidenbach chose another path. After finishing secondary school, he went straight to work instead of going to university. Certain builders, architects and tradesmen were interested in clay, but there was no logistical, machine or human infrastructure. Peter Breidenbach saw this gap in the market and decided to close it by opening his own company. So, in 1984 at the age of 21, he founded the building company Lehmbau Breidenbach and obtained his first large building contract. In 1985, the company was entered into the craftsmen's register of the Düsseldorf Chamber of Crafts and was Germany's first building company working exclusively with clay. Breidenbach was also a pioneer when it came to machinery. Modern clay construction previously hadn't existed. The machines to do it first had to be developed. Suitable staff also had to be found. Breidenbach's school friend Ulrich Röhlen, who studied architecture in Aachen, was on board from the start.

The young company was involved in renovating important half-timbered houses all over Germany, such as the Haus Römer 2-6 in Limburg; built in 1289, it is one of the oldest half-timbered houses in Germany. Mixing was always done on the building site itself, which meant a good deal of work. In 1989, for reasons of quality and cost, Peter Breidenbach decided to preproduce clay building materials and distribute them to craftsmen's enterprises. For the production of Claytec building materials, he chose a special place: the old brickworks in Viersen, built in 1908 and home to the last intact circular kiln in the Rhineland. The kiln was in operation until 1935. Peter Breidenbach, who was born in the Viersen district of Süchteln in 1963 and grew up there, always passed the ruins of the brickworks on his bike on the way to school. It was a veritable adventure playground for the local boys. When it was decided to demolish the brickworks, Breidenbach distributed car bumper stickers demanding it be saved. Funds from the state made restoring the brickworks possible. Today, 27 employees work there and in the office.

Watching production, you learn quickly that clay plaster can come in a variety of colours. The Yosima designer clay plaster allows 138 tones to be mixed by finely tuning the proportions of five basic colours. Just as the car brand Mercedes was taken from a girl's name, Peter Breidenbach chose for his product line a name formed from the first letters of his children's names: Yosima is derived from Yola, Simon and Max.

Peter Breidenbach has increasingly stepped back from the role of craftsman to avoid competing with the buyers of his products. Training and sales are being expanded, however. Seminar rooms are being set up in the former master's house of the brickworks. Modernisation of existing buildings is on the increase. New energy standards for renovation play right into Claytec's hands. "Woodchip wallpaper is dead, long live Tuscan plaster," Peter Breidenbach laughs. It is a question not only of aesthetics or trends, but of substantial arguments such as the indoor climate. Clay, the world's oldest building material, has made the transition into the modern age.


Peter Breidenbach
Nettetaler Str. 113
41751 Viersen

Tel. +49 2153 918-0
Fax +49 2153 918-18

X

Leben mit Lehm

Für das neu gebaute Diözesanmuseum Kolumba in Köln erhielt der Schweizer Architekt Peter Zumthor im Mai 2009 den Pritzker-Preis, quasi eine Art Nobelpreis der Architektur, verliehen. Im Innenraum entstand eine 28 Meter lange und 14 Meter hohe Wand, die ohne störende Dehnungsfugen beschichtet werden sollten. Das Kölner Unternehmen Stuck & Akustik Weck setzte dafür Lehmputz von Claytec aus Viersen ein. Die lichtgrauen Lehmputzflächen von insgesamt 6500 Quadratmetern haben Maßstäbe gesetzt, für Fachleute wie fürs Publikum. Je nach Lichteinfall schimmert der Kristallsand im Lehmputz.

Lehmputz ist heute international gefragt. So gehört etwa das historische Fort Al Jahili im Emirat Abu Dhabi zu den Referenzprojekten von Peter Breidenbach und Claytec. Sein 1984 gegründetes Unternehmen steht für die Herstellung und Anwendung von Lehm, im Englischen "clay", das tec für die Technik. Der Lehmbau im Sinne von Peter Breidenbach ist Nostalgie und Avantgarde zugleich. Der Lehm ist eine uralte Kulturtechnik, eine natürliche Ressource, die völlig zu Unrecht in den Hintergrund gedrängt wurde. Lehmputz, der auch Handystrahlung abschirmen kann, ist heute absolut modern und aktuell. Er steht für Umweltschutz, Nachhaltigkeit und Gesundheit. Wie kein anderer Baustoff erfüllt Lehm ganz aktuell Anforderungen ökologischer und baubiologischer Art. Lehm ist örtlich verfügbar, bei der Herstellung benötigt er wenig Energie - und er gibt keine Schadstoffe ab. Lehmputz reguliert die Luftfeuchtigkeit, bietet eine gute Schalldämmung und speichert Raumwärme oder Sonneneinstrahlung.

Viele Argumente sprechen für Lehm, trotzdem war es viele Jahre überhaupt nicht modern und selbstverständlich, mit Lehm zu arbeiten. Angefangen hat alles im elterlichen Hof. Hermann und Inge Breidenbach führten seit 1960 in Viersen ein Architekturbüro und engagierten sich immer schon für die Denkmalpflege. Privat begannen die Eltern 1975 einen 1661 errichteten Fachwerkhof instand zu setzen, den Tho Rieth-Hof in Viersen. 1978 begannen dort die ersten Versuche, mit Lehm zu arbeiten. Mittendrin dabei waren immer Peter Breidenbach, damals 15 Jahre alt, und sein Schulfreund Ulrich Röhlen, wenige Jahre älter. Heute lebt und arbeitet Peter Breidenbachs älterer Bruder Martin als Architekt auf dem Hof. Dessen 1987 gegründetes Architekturbüro plant den Neubau von Wohnhäusern, ebenso ist es in der Denkmalpflege und Sanierung alter Gebäude aktiv, wobei energetische, ökonomische und baubiologische Aspekte besonders berücksichtigt werden. Ein aktuelles Beispiel ist Schloss Liedberg. Klar arbeitet Martin Breidenbach auch mit Lehm.

Peter Breidenbach ist einen anderen Weg gegangen. Nach dem Abitur ging er nicht an die Hochschule, sondern direkt in die Praxis. Denn es gab zwar bei einzelnen Bauherren, Architekten und Handwerkern Interesse an Lehm, es fehlte jede logistische, maschinelle und personelle Infrastruktur. Peter Breidenbach sah hier eine Marktlücke und die schloss er mit seinem eigenen Unternehmen. So gründete er 1984 mit 21 Jahren das Bauunternehmen Lehmbau Breidenbach und übernahm einen ersten großen Bauauftrag. 1985 wurde das Unternehmen in die Handwerksrolle der Handwerkskammer Düsseldorf eingetragen, als erste ausschließlich im Lehmbau tätige Firma in Deutschland überhaupt. Auch bei den Maschinen war Breidenbach Pionier. Einen modernen Lehmbau hatte es zuvor nie gegeben. Die Maschinen dazu mussten erst entwickelt werden. Auch geeignete Mitarbeiter mussten gefunden werden. Schulfreund Ulrich Röhlen, der in Aachen Architektur studierte, machte von Anfang an mit.

Das junge Unternehmen war bundesweit an der Sanierung bedeutender Fachwerkhäuser beteiligt, etwa das Haus Römer 2-6 in Limburg aus dem Jahr 1289, eines der ältesten Fachwerkhäuser Deutschlands. Gemischt wurde grundsätzlich auf der Baustelle, was immer einen großen Aufwand bedeutete. Aus Qualitäts- wie Kostengründen verlegte sich Peter Breidenbach nach 1989 auf die Vorfertigung von Lehmbaustoffen und den Vertrieb an Handwerksbetriebe. Für die Produktion der Claytec-Baustoffe wählte er einen besonderen Ort aus, die Alte Ziegelei aus dem Jahr 1908 in Viersen, die letzte Ziegelei mit einem intakten Ringofen im Rheinland, der bis 1935 in Betrieb war. Peter Breidenbach, 1963 in Viersen-Süchteln geboren und aufgewachsen, kam als Schüler immer mit dem Fahrrad an der Ziegelei-Ruine vorbei. Für die Jungen war sie ein herrlicher Abenteuerspielplatz. Als sie abgerissen werden sollte, verteilte er Autoaufkleber, auf denen der Erhalt gefordert wurde. Mit Landesmitteln gelang die Restaurierung. Heute arbeiten dort und im Büro 27 Mitarbeiter.

Wenn man dort bei der Produktion zuschaut, lernt man schnell, dass Lehmputz auch eine farbliche Vielfalt zulässt. Mit dem Yosima-Lehm-Designputz werden aus fünf Grundfarben feinabgestimmt 138 Töne gemischt. So wie der Auto-Markenname Mercedes nach einem Mädchen benannt wurde, so wählte Peter Breidenbach für seine neue Produktlinie einen Namen, der sich aus den Anfangsbuchstaben seiner Kinder zusammen setzt: Yosima steht für Yola, Simon und Max.

Aus dem handwerklichen Bereich hat sich Breidenbach immer mehr zurückgezogen, um nicht mit den Abnehmern seiner Produkte in den Wettbewerb zu treten. Dafür werden Schulung und Verkauf ausgebaut. Im ehemaligen Meisterhaus der Ziegelei entstehen Seminarräume. Das Bauen im Bestand nimmt zu. Neue energetische Standards bei der Sanierung spielen Claytec in die Hände. "Die Raufaser-Tapete ist tot, es lebe der Toskana-Putz", lacht Peter Breidenbach. Dabei geht es aber nicht nur um Ästhetik oder Trends, sondern um handfeste Argumente wie das gute Raumklima. Lehm, der älteste Baustoff der Welt, hat den Sprung in die Moderne geschafft.

 

CLAYTEC e. K.
Peter Breidenbach
Nettetaler Str. 113
41751 Viersen

Tel. +49 2153 918-0
Fax +49 2153 918-18


service@claytec.de

www.claytec.de