Hightech in Dormagen

Coatema Coating Machinery GmbH, based in Dormagen, is a highly innovative company for tricky coating operations. The mechanical engineers develop new technical solutions for all sorts of problems and are the global leaders in many segments with their machines. The engineers and technicians from Dormagen make sure that problems relating to coating are solved and that unusual customer ideas are turned into real machines. This enabled Coatema customers from all over the world to brave the global financial crisis and even develop their sales in a positive direction.

In the hall two machines are being prepared for dispatch. One of them, used for coating films for cell phone batteries, is going to France; the other is for membranes and is going to Austria. It’s hard to imagine what goes on here in the small north industrial park in Dormagen-Horrem, hidden between the romantic Zons Fortress on the Rhine and the S-Bahn station together with the A 57. Even in the visitor’s parking lot, the visitor still has no inkling of the high-tech machines which are designed, tested and manufactured in the inconspicuous building. Every day we take things for granted without giving a second thought to how they are made. This is where Coatema Coating Machinery GmbH comes in. The company name alone reveals the company’s global orientation. As well as coating, take the ingredients “textiles” and “machines” – and you get a good description of what the company does: it makes machines for coated technical textiles. Yet days the company doesn’t just work with textiles; other substrates can also be coated with the “made-in-Dormagen” machines, although the textile machine industry is the traditional field of this highly specialized firm.

Born in Dormagen

Once a year, Dr. Andreas Giessmann, the Managing Director of Coatema, invites his customers and anyone else interested from all over the world to Dormagen. In the early years his father Herbert Giessmann ran Coatema as an engineering office in Neuss.  When the company expanded and needed to relocate, it was a woman that tipped the scales in favor of Dormagen. “My mother was born in Dormagen,” Andreas Giessmann explains. Nine years ago he took over a hall in Hackenbroich but it quickly became too small. Then, two and a half years ago, Giessmann relocated the company to its current location in Roseller Straße. Today the company has grown three-fold in terms of company premises. A chemistry laboratory is also currently being built on the grounds. Furthermore, Giessmann is happy to profit from the site’s proximity to Bayer Dormagen. The man with a PhD in mechanical engineering from the Lower Rhine University of Applied Sciences, feels at home anywhere in the world – but his heart belongs to the Lower Rhine region.

When the subject is mechanical engineering, you might expect the odd person to start drifting off. But then you’d not only miss out an exciting story, but perhaps also the inspiration for a new business idea. For this is what happened to a roofer from Los Angeles. With California being so sunny, he had the idea of laying not just conventional tar boards on flat roofs for his customers, but of offering solar cells at the same time. The smart inventor searched the Internet worldwide for a potential manufacturer and ended up at Coatema. Research and development lasted a year. The roof boards and the flexible solar cells had to be combined in such a way that they would last for 20 years and provide water-tight protection from the weather, but also prevent the migration of plasticizers. Coatema found a coating solution plus a new adhesive and built the corresponding machine. The roofer went to the stock market with this solution and became rich.

Second generation

“We turn customers into millionaires,” Dr. Andreas Giessmann says somewhat tongue-in-cheek. The engineer is something of a phenomenon in his industry. He represents the second generation of Coatema. 17 years ago he joined the company his father Herbert Giessmann had founded in 1974 and expanded it from an engineering office into a machine construction company. His father had gathered experience with technical textiles in textiles factories in Krefeld, Mönchengladbach and Aachen. Back then they were working with imitation leather, vinyl wallpapers, floors and lorry tarpaulins. As a self-employed constructor, he planned turn-key machines that were sold in Asia. “These days we build everything ourselves,” his son Andreas explains. The 85 members of staff in Dormagen work on something new every day. Their customers from all over the world feel well looked-after. Manufacturers have an idea for a new product but no idea how to make it. At Coatema they investigate the chemical relationships, think of a suitable process for it, build the machines required and try them out on site. Customers from Brazil to India come to Dormagen, where they can see the machines with their own eyes and take the final product in their hands. The so-called “Technical Center”, a sort of permanent exhibition, houses many prototypes that are constantly modified, improved and adapted. In addition, the company engineers developed a modular construction system and a range of patents which can handle the various coating operations. 

Market leader worldwide

One of these innovative coatings produces the electrode-membrane unit as a key component for fuel cells. This project brought Coatema into the Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Network NRW. The Jülich Research Center assisted with new types of chemical formulas. We also learn in passing that Coatema is the market leader in coating machines for renewable energies, i.e. batteries and solar cells. The Technical Center is full of such laboratory lines as ideas for the next stages – and orders. “Luckily there are many creative minds in Europe – and we are known in the sector for creative solutions,” Dr. Giessmann explains. He never knows what the next customer will bring. How can the seven layers for an icing cream piping bag be attached to each other? What sort of machine is needed to make chewing gum substitute? How do you attach the scouring layer onto a sponge so that it doesn’t come off? How do you attach the treads on non-slip children’s sock to the material? The only person who finds out how the solutions work is the customer. Coatema has to observe more than 300 confidentiality agreements, covering everything from airbag textiles to lighting textiles. The machines have to coat increasingly thin films, sometimes in a water bath, then under nitrogen again. These are the challenges that make Coatema what it is today. No-one is at risk of getting bored in Roseller Straße.



COATEMA Coating Machinery GmbH
Roseller Str. 4
D-41539 Dormagen

Tel.: +49 (0) 21 33 - 97 84 0
Fax: +49 (0) 21 33 - 97 84 170

X

HIGHTECH IN DORMAGEN

Die Coatema Coating Machinery GmbH in Dormagen ist ein hoch innovatives Unternehmen für knifflige Beschichtungsaufgaben. Die Maschinenbauer entwickeln für jede Problemstellung eine neue technische Lösung und sind mit ihren Maschinen in vielen Segmenten Weltmarktspitze. Die Dormagener Ingenieure und Techniker sorgen dafür, dass Probleme der Beschichtung gelöst und so aus ausgefallenen Kundenideen reale Maschinen werden. Damit konnten Unternehmer aus aller Welt als Coatema-Kunden der Weltwirtschaftskrise trotzen und ihre Umsätze sogar positiv entwickeln.

In der Halle werden zwei Maschinen versandfertig gemacht. Die eine, mit der Folien für Handy-Akkus beschichtet werden, geht nach Frankreich, die andere für Membranen nach Österreich. Wer hätte das gedacht, was sich hier im kleinen Gewerbegebiet Nord in Dormagen-Horrem, gelegen zwischen der romantischen Feste Zons am Rhein und der S-Bahn-Station samt A 57, verbirgt? Auch auf dem Besucherparkplatz ahnt der Besucher noch nichts von den Hightech-Maschinen, die in dem eher unscheinbaren Gebäude erdacht, erprobt und hergestellt werden. Jeden Tag nehmen wir ganz selbstverständlich Dinge in die Hand, ohne einen Gedanken daran zu verschwenden, wie sie hergestellt werden. Das genau ist das Geschäft der Coatema Coating Machinery GmbH. Und allein der Firmenname zeigt schon die Ausrichtung auf den Weltmarkt an. Coating ist das englische Wort für Beschichten, hinzu kommen die Bestandteile textil und Maschinen – fertig ist der Firmenname, der das Produkt umschreibt: Maschinen für beschichtete technische Textilien herstellen. Inzwischen geht es nicht mehr nur um Textilien, auch andere Trägermaterialien können mit den Maschinen „made in Dormagen“ beschichtet werden. Die Textilmaschinenindustrie ist jedoch der Ursprung dieser hochspezialisierten Firma.

Gebürtige Dormagenerin

Einmal im Jahr lädt Dr. Andreas Giessmann, der geschäftsführende Gesellschafter von Coatema, seine Kunden und Interessenten aus aller Welt nach Dormagen ein. In den Anfangsjahren führte noch Vater Herbert Giessmann Coatema als ein Ingenieurbüro in Neuss.  Als sich die Firma vergrößerte, gab eine Frau den Ausschlag, nach Dormagen umzusiedeln. „Meine Mutter ist eine gebürtige Dormagenerin“, bekennt Andreas Giessmann. Zuerst hatte er vor neun Jahren eine Halle in Hackenbroich übernommen, doch die wurde schnell zu klein. Vor zweieinhalb Jahren zog Giessmann mit seinem Betrieb an den heutigen Standort an der Roseller Straße. Heute ist das Unternehmen platzmäßig auf die dreifache Größe angewachsen. Gerade wird auf dem Gelände ein Chemielabor aufgebaut. Giessmann profitiert da auch gerne von der Nähe zu Bayer Dormagen. Der promovierte Maschinenbauer, der an der FH Niederrhein studierte, ist in aller Welt zu Hause – aber am liebsten aber vor Ort am Niederrhein.

Beim Thema Maschinenbau mag der ein oder andere bereits gedanklich aussteigen. Da verpasst man aber nicht nur eine spannende Geschichte, sondern auch vielleicht den ein oder anderen Anstoß für eine neue Geschäftsidee. Wie zum Beispiel der Dachdecker aus Los Angeles. Im sonnenreichen Kalifornien kam er auf die Idee, seinen Kunden nicht nur eine herkömmliche Teerpappe aufs Flachdach zu verlegen, sondern damit gleichzeitig Solarzellen anzubieten. Der pfiffige Erfinder hat das Internet weltweit nach einem möglichen Hersteller gescreent und ist schließlich bei Coatema gelandet. Hier wurde ein Jahr lang geforscht und entwickelt. Die Dachpappe und die flexiblen Solarzellen mussten nicht nur so zusammen gebracht werden, dass sie 20 Jahre halten und wasserdicht dem Wetter trotzen, auch das Wandern von Weichmachern musste unterbunden werden. Coatema fand eine Beschichtungslösung plus einen neuen Klebstoff und baute die Maschine dazu. Der Dachdecker ging mit dieser Lösung an die Börse und wurde damit reich.

In zweiter Generation

„Wir machen aus Kunden Millionäre“, fasst Dr. Andreas Giessmann trocken zusammen. Der Maschinenbauer ist schon eine Ausnahme in seiner Branche. Er stellt die zweite Generation von Coatema dar. Vor 17 Jahren stieg er in die von seinem Vater Herbert Giessmann 1974 gegründete Firma ein und baute sie vom Ingenieurbüro zu einem Maschinenbauunternehmen aus. Der Vater hatte als Konstruktionsleiter in Textilfabriken in Krefeld, Mönchengladbach und Aachen Erfahrungen mit technischen Textilien gesammelt. Damals ging es um Kunstleder, Vinyltapeten, Fußböden oder Lkw-Planen. Als selbstständiger Konstrukteur plante er schlüsselfertige Anlagen,  die nach Asien verkauft wurden. „Heute bauen wir alles selber“, erklärt Sohn Andreas. Mit 85 Mitarbeitern wird in Dormagen jeden Tag an etwas Neuem gearbeitet. Die Kunden aus aller Welt fühlen sich hier gut aufgehoben. Die Hersteller haben eine Idee für ein neues Produkt – aber keine Ahnung, wie man es herstellt. Bei Coatema schaut man sich die chemischen Zusammenhänge an, denkt sich einen Prozess dazu aus, baut die notwendige Maschine dazu und probiert es direkt vor Ort aus. Die Kunden von Brasilien bis Indien kommen nach Dormagen, können die Maschine erleben und ihr fertiges Produkt in die Hand nehmen. Im so genannten Technikum, eine Art Dauermesse, stehen etliche Prototypen, die ständig verändert, verbessert und angepasst werden. Dazu wurden von den eigenen Ingenieuren Baukastensysteme und eine Reihe von Patenten entwickelt, die die verschiedensten Beschichtungsaufgaben ermöglichen. 

Marktführer weltweit

Eine dieser innovativen Beschichtungen produziert die Elektrode-Membran-Einheit als wesentliche Komponente für die Brennstoffzelle. Mit diesem Projekt ist Coatema im Kompetenz-Netzwerk Brennstoffzelle und Wasserstoff NRW aufgenommen. Das Forschungszentrum Jülich lieferte dazu neuartige Chemierezepturen. Fast nebenbei erfährt man, dass Coatema Marktführer im Bereich Beschichtungsmaschinen für erneuerbare Energie, also Batterien und Solarzellen, ist. Im Technikum stehen lauter solche Laboranlagen als Ideengeber für die nächsten Schritte – und Aufträge. „Zum Glück gibt es viele kreative Köpfe in Europa, und wir sind in der Branche für kreative Lösungen bekannt“, weiß Dr. Giessmann. Er weiß nie, was der nächste Auftraggeber mit sich bringt. Wie können die sieben Schichten für einen Sahnespritzbeutel verbunden werden? Mit welcher Maschine lässt sich Kaugummiersatz herstellen? Wie kommt die Scheuerschicht untrennbar auf den Schwamm? Wie lassen sich die Noppen für den Anti-Rutsch-Kinderstrumpf auf den Stoff aufbringen? Die Lösungen erfährt allein der Kunde. Über 300 Geheimhaltungen muss Coatema berücksichtigen, vom Airbag-Gewebe bis zu Leucht-Textilien. Die Maschinen müssen immer dünnere Folien beschichten, mal im Wasserbad, dann wieder unter Stickstoff. Das sind die Herausforderungen, die Coatema ausmachen. Langweilig wird es an der Roseller Straße niemandem.

 

COATEMA Coating Machinery GmbH
Roseller Str. 4
D-41539 Dormagen

Tel.: +49 (0) 21 33 - 97 84 0
Fax: +49 (0) 21 33 - 97 84 170

www.coatema.de