Foreign companies located in the Niederrhein region

Amongst the German Federal States, North Rhine-Westphalia, with around a quarter of all foreign investment in Germany, regularly achieves the highest grading, putting it in the position of being Germany’s Nr. 1* investment location.

Within NRW and behind the two regional metropolises Düsseldorf and Cologne/Bonn, the Niederrhein region and the Ruhr metropolis take it in turns to be in third position.

Located within the Niederrhein region are more than 11,000 foreign companies, of which around 2,700 are noted in the Register of Companies (HR-Unternehmen) and about 8,350 are registered as small traders. (Hereafter only figures of “HR-Unternehmen” are being referred to. The figures have been rounded).

The sectors which are represented the most frequently are trade (1,070), the service sector (560) and the manufacturing sector (350), followed by real estate and housing (190), the building trade (100) as well as transport and warehousing (90).

Top countries of origin are the Netherlands with 1,250 companies followed by Switzerland (160) and the USA (130). Further positions are taken by Great Britain (130), Belgium (110), Greater China (incl. Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan also 110), Japan (90), Italy and France (80 each).

1st Place: The Netherlands
Not only the close proximity to the Netherlands, but also the cultivation of good neighbourliness makes the Niederrhein region one of the first choices as a location for Dutch companies. Approximately half of all the foreign companies located in the Niederrhein region have Dutch owners, in total 1,250. In turn more than 50% of these companies have chosen the district of Kleve to locate in. It is here that particularly close knit sector and business networks criss-cross the border region allowing the country borders to be almost overlooked.

A good third of the Dutch companies located in the Niederrhein can be assigned to the trading sector followed some way behind by the service sector and manufacturing.

Prominent Dutch companies often have a relation to the agribusiness such as Kofu Tiernahrung (the animal feedstuffs brand name of the Agrifirm Group), Mekkafood (Halal meat for the Islamic community), Refresco (fruit juice) and Suntjens Süßwaren Import und Export (confectionary).
Probably the best known wholesaler with connections to the agribusiness, though organised on a different basis by the producers themselves, is Landgard eG with its offices near to the border in Straelen-Herongen (district of Kleve). In 2010 a Dutch participant in the market from Venlo became a joint venture partner in this internationally positioned marketing co-operative. 

But also dealers and producers from other sectors have become well established in the Niederrhein. For example Café Bar (coffee machines), LeasePlan Deutschland (vehicle fleet management), Leolux Möbelfabrik (furniture), Plasticon Germany (composites), REDSUN garden products, Vanderlande Industries (logistic equipment), VINK Kunststoffe (semi-finished plastics) and Vos Logistics Goch.
2nd Place: Switzerland
It is not always immediately apparent that Swiss investors are from Switzerland. For example from amongst the approximately 160 companies identified as being of Swiss origin, brands from other continents can be found that have chosen Switzerland as their European headquarters and carry out investment in other countries from there. But there are also prominent “genuine” Swiss companies that have located in the Niederrhein region: the Nestlé Group with Nestlé Waters and the brand name Thomy; the Starrag Group with the machine tool manufacturer Dörries Scharmann Technolgie; Zepter International with the silver plater Silberwarenfabrik Jäger as well as the sportswear company ODLO Sports. For the most part they are service and trading companies.
3rd Place: USA
Virtually level with Switzerland is the USA, also with about 160 companies. Over a period of more than 60 years 3M Deutschland in Neuss has developed into a European research centre and has become the second largest subsidiary of this technology concern outside of the USA. The starch manufacturer Cargill Deutschland can also show a similar long tradition at their location in Krefeld which they acquired a few years ago. Further examples of US American investment in the Niederrhein are: Cook Deutschland (medical devices); Johnson Controls Interior (automotive parts); Johnson & Johnson (Healthcare); MARS (confectionery); Signode System (packaging) and Woodward Kempen (electronic control systems). From Neuss the logistics company UPS runs its European hub together with its location based at the International Airport Cologne/Bonn.
* This and information given hereafter is based on data available as of September 2014.

X

Ausländische Unternehmen am Standort Niederrhein.

Nordrhein-Westfalen erreicht mit einem Anteil von rund einem Viertel aller ausländischen Direktinvestitionen in Deutschland regelmäßig den höchsten Wert unter den deutschen Bundesländern und positioniert sich damit als Deutschlands Investitionsstandort Nr. 1*.

Innerhalb NRW’s wechseln sich - hinter den beiden Metropolregionen Düsseldorf und Köln/Bonn - der Standort Niederrhein und die Metropole Ruhr auf Platz 3 ab.

Der Standort Niederrhein zählt mehr als 11.000 ausländische Unternehmen, davon sind rund 2.700 im Handelsregister eingetragen (HR-Unternehmen) und rund 8.350 als Kleingewerbetreibende registriert. (Nachfolgend werden ausschließlich die HR-Unternehmen betrachtet; Zahlenangaben sind gerundet.)

Meist vertretene Branchen sind der Handel (1.070), Dienstleistungen (560) und Verarbeitendes Gewerbe (350), gefolgt von Grundstücks- und Wohnungswesen (190), Baugewerbe (100) sowie Verkehr und Lagerei (90).

Top-Herkunftsland sind mit 1.250 Unternehmen die Niederlande, gefolgt von der Schweiz (160) und den USA (130) Auf den weiteren Plätzen folgen Großbritannien (130), Belgien (110) und Groß-China (inkl. Hongkong, Macau und Taiwan, ebenfalls 110), Japan (90), Italien und Frankreich (jeweils 80).

 

 

Platz 1: die Niederlande

Nicht nur die räumliche Nähe, sondern auch die intensiv gepflegte Nachbarschaft zu den Niederlanden macht den Standort Niederrhein zu einer ersten Ansiedlungsregion für niederländische Unternehmen. Annähernd die Hälfte aller Auslandsunternehmen am Standort Niederrhein haben niederländische Eigentümer, in Summe 1.250. Mehr als 50 Prozent dieser Unternehmen wiederum haben dabei den Kreis Kleve als ihren Standort ausgewählt. Hier durchziehen besonders dicht geknüpfte Branchen- und Business-Netzwerke die Grenzregion und lassen die Ländergrenze nahezu vergessen.

Ein gutes Drittel der niederländischen Unternehmen am Standort Niederrhein lässt sich der Branche Handel zuordnen, mit Abstand folgen Dienstleistungen und Verarbeitendes Gewerbe .

Prominente Niederländer haben häufig einen Bezug zum Agribusiness, wie zum Beispiel Kofu Tiernahrung (Tierfutter-Marke der Genossenschaft Agrifirm), Mekkafood (Halal-Fleisch für die islamische Community), Refresco (Fruchtsäfte) und Suntjens Süßwaren Import und Export.

Wohl prominentestes, wenn auch anders organisiertes Großhandelsunternehmen mit Agribusiness-Bezug ist die von den Erzeugern selbst getragene Landgard eG mit grenznaher Zentrale in Straelen-Herongen (Kreis Kleve). An dieser international aufgestellten Vermarktungsgenossenschaft hat sich 2010 ein niederländischer Marktteilnehmer aus Venlo als Joint-Venture-Partner beteiligt.

Aber auch Händler und Produzenten aus anderen Branchen haben am Standort Niederrhein gut Fuß gefasst wie zum Beispiel Café Bar (Kaffeemaschinen), LeasePlan Deutschland (Flottenmanagement), Leolux Möbelfabrik, Plasticon Germany (Verbundwerkstoffe), REDSUN garden products, Vanderlande Industries (Logistikanlagen), VINK Kunststoffe und Vos Logistics Goch.

 

Platz 2: die Schweiz

Investitionen aus der Schweiz sind nicht immer sofort als solche sichtbar. Unter den rund 160 mit Herkunftsland Schweiz ermittelten Unternehmen finden sich so zum Beispiel auch Marken aus anderen Kontinenten, die in der Schweiz ihren Europasitz gewählt haben und von dort aus in andere Länder investieren. Aber es gibt auch prominente „echte“ Schweizer am Standort Niederrhein: die Nestlé Gruppe mit Nestlé Waters und der Marke Thomy, die Starrag-Gruppe mit dem Werkzeugmaschinenhersteller Dörries Scharmann Technologie, Zepter International mit der Silberwarenfabrik Jäger sowie die Sportbekleidungsmarke ODLO Sports. Meist vertretene Branchen insgesamt sind Dienstleistungen und Handel.

 

Platz 3: die USA

Nahezu gleichauf mit der Schweiz liegen die USA mit ebenfalls rund 160 Unternehmen. Über einen Zeitraum von mehr als 60 Jahren hat sich 3M Deutschland in Neuss zu einem europäischen Forschungszentrum und der zweitgrößten Niederlassung des Technologiekonzerns außerhalb der USA entwickelt. Auch der Stärkehersteller Cargill Deutschland kann auf eine ähnlich lange Tradition am vor wenigen Jahren erworbenen Standort Krefeld verweisen. Weitere Bespiele von US-amerikanischen Investments am Standort Niederrhein: Cook Deutschland (Medizintechnik), Johnson Controls Interior (Automobilzulieferer), Johnson & Johnson (Healthcare), MARS (Süßwaren), Signode System (Verpackungen) und Woodward Kempen (Elektronik). Der Logistiker UPS Deutschland betreibt von Neuss aus – in Verbindung mit einem Standort auf dem internationalen Flughafen Köln/Bonn – seinen Europa-Hub.

                                                              

  * Datenverfügbarkeit für diese und die folgenden Angaben: September 2014