ENGINEERING DOBERSEK – Customized solutions in a spirit of partnership

Courage and a willingness to take risks, coupled with drive and know-how – these are the core values that provide the foundations for the impressive development of ENGINEERING DOBERSEK. The company founders Dr Albin Dobersek and Tatjana Dobersek put these values into practice in daily working life. This entrepreneurial couple has thus proven, contrary to prevailing theories, that embarking on a career as self-employed business partners can also be successful without copious financial resources.

Dr Dobersek, who was born in Slovenia, first studied engineering science in Ljubljana, where he also met his wife. Since 1981, the couple have been living and working in the Niederrhein.

Before his entrepreneurial activities, the engineer acquired extensive experience in plant construction at various renowned companies in the sector, for example Babcock in Krefeld. His confidence in his excellent technical expertise and his determination to venture onto new paths then led Dr Dobersek down the road of self-employment. He learned one key lesson in a seminar by the chambers of industry and commerce, where they said that a couple setting up a company had two alternatives: they could either integrate the wife into the company or get a divorce. Albin Dobersek didn’t hesitate; he chose the first and founded the company in Mönchengladbach in 1983 together with his wife Tatjana, who herself trained in business administration.

The first orders came in the form of project planning for Mannesmann, Thyssen Krupp and Babcock. Although the direction the young firm had taken was obviously right, at the beginning there was a great deal of work and responsibility but little financial leeway. There was a long way to go and many hurdles before they reached the highest discipline in plant construction – the delivery of turnkey plants. But with the necessary perseverance and a steady stream of innovative ideas, the entrepreneurs managed to gain a growing influence in the projects, including in phases such as construction or project implementation.

This positive development was fostered by the economic and political collapse in countries in Central, Eastern and South-East Europe. Dr Dobersek had recognised the signs of the times early and quickly capitalised on the potential offered by new fields of activity. The managing partner travelled to his old homeland and began with a first assignment to remove the ash from the power station Sostanj in Slovenia. Other jobs followed in the former Yugoslavia and the CIS states. Albin Dobersek´s language skills and his understanding of various different cultural lifestyles gained him additional trust from the clients, prevented misunderstandings and opened some doors that appeared to be closed. His strict policy of only employing specialised staff who also have the required qualifications and experience has been part of the company’s firm strategy ever since. Furthermore, technical solutions and products from Germany have traditionally enjoyed an excellent reputation in South-East Europe, Russia and Central Asia. Even the lack of currencies in the countries making the transition back then did not represent barriers to market entry for Dobersek. After all, the focus of his business activities was on raw materials producers and mines that sold copper, nickel and gold on the global market and were in possession of the corresponding currencies. There was an evident need for improvement in the quality of the components used and the operational processes of the production sites there – and ENGINEERING DOBERSEK saw its chance. The company has been a GmbH (limited liability company) since 1989.

The plant construction company made a name for itself quickly, in particular thanks to its unconventional and cost-efficient solutions for complex assignments. For example, in a plant in Kazakhstan, aggressive sludge appeared which required the production pumps to be changed after just 400 operating hours. After the analysis, the team at ENGINEERING DOBERSEK ascertained that apart from the components, improvements in the pump control system were possible. So after a few remodelling measures and the introduction of a control system they developed themselves, the plant construction company managed to get the pumps running for 4,000 hours, and to extract 3 percent more metal from the sludge. The 1.5 million deutschmark assignment was the first major success in central Asia, but word got round in the industry and led to other major jobs.

The development of ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH continued on the path of innovation: at a Russian mine, the company deployed a special technology to re-use the waste from non-ferrous metal extraction. Cavities generated during the extraction of raw materials underground were filled with a special mixture of this waste and other materials. This prevented subsidence from occurring on the landscape. In addition, thanks to this so-called “rock filling process”, the environmentally harmful outside landfill site was no longer necessary.

Another milestone in the company’s history was the assignment it received in 2006 to build a new copper works and to modernize an existing lead works in Kazakhstan. The new copper works were finally commissioned at the end of 2011 – an 850-million-dollar project which sent out a signal to the industry worldwide.

Proximity to the customer and flexible cooperation based on mutual respect continued to be the fundamental success factors in expanding the company. Today, a network of cooperation partners with around 100 employees in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Russia, Serbia, the Ukraine and Uzbekistan supports customers, construction sites and projects locally. The headquarters of ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH, where 210 staff work, is still Mönchengladbach. From here concepts are devised, plants designed and components put together, with the effect that about 90% of the equipment is purchased in Germany. ENGINEERING DOBERSEK places great value on manufacturer independence so that it can offer its customers customized solutions based on their needs. A joint venture founded in 2011 in Kazakhstan has another 260 staff.

The range of products and services offered by ENGINEERING DOBERSEK now covers five sectors: mining and metallurgy, water treatment, energy and environment technology as well as chemistry and special machine construction. Beyond the regular customer contact at the customer’s base or its construction sites, ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH also regularly presents its services at trade fairs and congresses. As well as the Hannover trade fair, in 2013 the company took part in mining fairs in Russia, Kazakhstan, Serbia, and also Chile for the first time.

As an all-round provider, ENGINEERING DOBERSEK is today able to offer all the services of an international company for turnkey plant construction, from research and development, basic and detailed engineering, construction, delivery and installation to commissioning and after-sales service.

When a company has developed so successfully in this manner, it is not surprising that the office premises at the company base in Mönchengladbach have now reached their limits. But the family business has already made provisions. They have made a clear commitment to their current location and begun planning for a new building in Nordpark, not far from the Borussia Mönchengladbach stadium. Dr Dobersek, for whom Mönchengladbach is a beautiful city with many green spaces, also appreciates the excellent transport links. He can reach Düsseldorf airport from his office in just 20 minutes via the A52. That’s ideal for this well-travelled business man, for there are three flights a day to Moscow from there, and in Moscow he can change to flights to Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan. The 62-year-old Borussia fan, who watches the Bundesliga matches even when he’s hundreds of miles away in Kazakhstan, has three children, and one son and one daughter already work for the company. The course for the future has already been set.



Engineering Dobersek GmbH
Pastorenkamp 31
41169 Mönchengladbach

Tel. 02161 90108-0
Fax 02161 90108-20/-30




As at: August 2013

X

ENGINEERING DOBERSEK – Kundenorientierte Lösungen auf Augenhöhe

Mut, Risikobereitschaft gepaart mit Tatkraft und Know how – diese Kernwerte bilden die Basis für die beeindruckende Entwicklung von ENGINEERING DOBERSEK. Vorgelebt werden sie von den Unternehmensgründern Dr.-Ing. Albin Dobersek und Tatjana Dobersek. Allen gängigen Theorien zum Trotz hat das Unternehmerehepaar damit bewiesen, dass der Start in eine erfolgreiche Selbständigkeit auch ohne große finanzielle Mittel gelingen kann.

Der gebürtige Slowene Dr.-Ing. Dobersek studierte zunächst Ingenieurs-wissenschaften in Llubljana, wo er auch seine Frau kennenlernte. Seit 1981 lebt und arbeitet das Ehepaar gemeinsam am Niederrhein.

Vor der unternehmerischen Tätigkeit erwarb der Ingenieur umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Anlagenbau bei verschiedenen namhaften Firmen der Branche, beispielsweise Babcock in Krefeld. Die Gewissheit, fachlich bestens gerüstet zu sein und der unbedingte Wille, eigene neue Wege zu beschreiten, führte Dr.-Ing. Dobersek schließlich in die Selbständigkeit. Eine wesentliche Erkenntnis wurde ihm in einem IHK-Seminar vermittelt. Demnach hätten Firmengründer zwei Alternativen: Entweder die Ehefrau ins Unternehmen zu integrieren oder sich scheiden zu lassen. Albin Dobersek wählte bewusst die erste Alternative und gründete im Jahr 1983 gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Tatjana, einer ausgebildeten Kauffrau, das Unternehmen in Mönchengladbach.

Erste Aufträge in Form von Projektierungen für Mannesmann, Thyssen Krupp und Babcock konnten realisiert werden. Obgleich die eingeschlagene Richtung der jungen Firma offensichtlich stimmte, standen am Anfang viel Arbeit und Verantwortung nur relativ geringen finanziellen Spielräumen gegenüber. Bis zur höchsten Disziplin im Anlagenbau – der Lieferung schlüsselfertiger Anlagen – war der Weg daher noch weit und oftmals steinig. Mit der nötigen Beharrlichkeit und weiteren frischen Ideen ausgestattet, gelang es den Unternehmern auch in Phasen, wie der Konstruktion oder der Projektumsetzung, immer mehr an Einfluss bei den Projekten zu gewinnen.

Begünstigt wurde diese positive Entwicklung durch die wirtschaftlichen und politischen Zusammenbrüche in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa. Dr.-Ing. Dobersek hatte frühzeitig die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt und das Potenzial neuer Betätigungsfelder schnell genutzt. Der geschäftsführende Gesellschafter reiste in seine alte Heimat und begann mit einem ersten Auftrag für die Entaschung des Kraftwerks Sostanj in Slowenien. Es folgten weitere Aufträge im ehemaligen Jugoslawien und den GUS-Ländern.Albin Dobersek´s Sprachkenntnisse und sein Verständnis für verschiedene kulturelle Lebensweisen schafften zusätzliches Vertrauen bei den Kunden, bewahrten vor Missverständnissen und öffneten manche Tür, die verschlossen zu sein schien. Der konsequente Einsatz von Fachpersonal, das ebenfalls über die entsprechenden Qualifikationen und Hintergründe verfügt, gehört daher seit jenen Tagen zur festen Strategie des Unternehmens. Außerdem genießen technische Lösungen und Produkte aus Deutschland traditionell einen exzellenten Ruf in Südosteuropa, Russland und Zentralasien. Selbst die fehlenden Devisen der damals in einer Umbruchphase befindlichen Staaten stellten für Dobersek keine Markteintrittsbarriere dar. Denn im Fokus des geschäftlichen Engagements standen vielmehr Rohstoffproduzenten und Bergwerke, die mit Kupfer, Nickel und Gold am Weltmarkt vertreten waren und über die entsprechenden Devisen verfügten. Sowohl die Qualität der eingesetzten Komponenten als auch die Betriebsabläufe der dortigen Produktionsstätten zeigten einen Optimierungsbedarf – ein willkommener Anknüpfungspunkt für das Unternehmen ENGINEERING DOBERSEK, das seit 1989 als GmbH firmiert.

Insbesondere mit seinen unkonventionellen und kosteneffizienten Lösungen anspruchsvoller Aufgabenstellungen hat sich das Unternehmen für Anlagenbau frühzeitig einen Namen gemacht. Beispielsweise trat in einer Anlage in Kasachstan aggressiver Schlamm auf, der einen Austausch der Förderpumpen schon nach 400 Betriebsstunden nötig machte. Das Team von ENGINEERING DOBERSEK stellte nach einer Analyse fest, dass über die Komponenten hinaus Verbesserungen in der Pumpensteuerung möglich waren. Nach wenigen Umbaumaßnahmen und der Einführung einer selbstentwickelten Steuerung erzielte der Anlagenbauer, dass die Pumpen nun 4000 Stunden liefen und zudem 3 Prozent mehr Metall aus dem Schlamm gewonnen werden konnte. Der 1,5 Millionen DM - Auftrag war der erste große Erfolg in Zentralasien, der sich in der Branche schnell herumsprach und zu weiteren großen Aufträgen führte.

Innovativ ging es in der Geschichte von ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH weiter: Für ein russisches Bergwerk setzte das Unternehmen eine besondere Technologie zur weiteren Nutzung von Abfällen aus der Bunt-Metallgewinnung ein. Hohlräume, die beim Rohstoffabbau unter Tage entstanden, wurden mit einer speziellen Mischung dieser Abfälle und weiterer Stoffe verfüllt. Dadurch konnte ein Absinken der Landschaft verhindert werden. Durch das sogenannte „Bergversatz-Verfahren“ entfiel zudem die umweltbelastende Außendeponie.

Einen weiteren Meilenstein in der Unternehmensgeschichte stellt der im Jahr 2006 erhaltene Auftrag zum Bau einer neuen Kupferhütte und zur Modernisierung einer vorhandenen Bleihütte in Kasachstan dar. Ende 2011 wurde die neue Kupferhütte schließlich in Betrieb genommen – ein 850 Millionen-Dollar-Projekt, mit weltweiter Signalwirkung in der Branche.

Die Nähe zum Kunden und eine flexible, auf gegenseitige Wertschätzung basierende Zusammenarbeit stellten sich weiterhin als elementare Erfolgsfaktoren im Ausbau des Unternehmens heraus. Heute unterstützt ein Netz aus Kooperationspartnern mit rund 100 Mitarbeitern in Bosnien und Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Kasachstan, Kosovo, Mazedonien, Russland, Serbien, Ukraine und Usbekistan Kunden, Baustellen und Projekte vor Ort. Die Zentrale der ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH, in der 210 Mitarbeiter tätig sind, ist weiterhin Mönchengladbach. Von hier aus werden Konzepte erdacht, Anlagen entworfen und Komponenten zusammengestellt, mit dem Effekt, dass ca. 90% der Ausrüstung in Deutschland eingekauft wird. ENGINEERING DOBERSEK legt großen Wert auf seine Herstellerunabhängigkeit, um den Kunden bedarfsgerechte Lösungen anbieten zu können. Ein in 2011 gegründetes Joint Venture in Kasachstan verfügt über weitere 260 Mitarbeiter.

Die Angebotsbreite von ENGINEERING DOBERSEK umfasst mittlerweile fünf Tätigkeitsfelder: Bergbau und Metallurgie, Wasseraufbereitung, Energie- und Umwelttechnik sowie Chemie- und Sonderanlagenbau. Über den regelmäßigen Kundenkontakt am Sitz der Kunden oder ihren Baustellen hinaus, präsentiert die ENGINEERING DOBERSEK GmbH ihre Leistungen regelmäßig auf Messen und Kongressen. Außer an der Hannover Messe nahm das Unternehmen 2013 an Bergbaumessen in Russland, Kasachstan, Serbien und erstmals auch in Chile teil.

Als Komplettanbieter ist ENGINEERING DOBERSEK heute in der Lage, von der Forschung und Entwicklung, dem Basis und Detail-Engineering, der Konstruktion, Lieferung und Montage bis hin zur Inbetriebnahme und dem After-Sales-Service alle Leistungen eines internationalen Unternehmens für den schlüsselfertigen Anlagenbau anzubieten.

In Anbetracht einer derartigen Entwicklung verwundert es nicht, dass die Büroräume am Stammsitz in Mönchengladbach mittlerweile an ihre Kapazitätsgrenze angelangt sind. Doch das Familienunternehmen hat bereits vorgesorgt. Als klares Bekenntnis zum Standort haben die Planungen für einen Neubau am Nordpark, unweit des Stadion von Borussia Mönchengladbach, begonnen. Dr.-Ing. Dobersek, der Mönchengladbach als schöne Stadt mit vielem Grün empfindet, schätzt die hervorragende Verkehrsanbindung. Von seinem Büro aus ist über die A52 der Flughafen in Düsseldorf in 20 Minuten erreichbar. Ideal für den vielgereisten Geschäftsmann, denn dort starten täglich drei Flüge nach Moskau, wo es Umsteigemöglichkeiten nach Kasachstan und Usbekistan gibt. Der 62-jährige Borussia-Fan, der selbst im weit entfernten Kasachstan die Bundesliga-Spiele im Fernsehen verfolgt, hat drei Kinder, von denen ein Sohn und eine Tochter bereits im Unternehmen mitarbeiten. Die Weichen für die Zukunft sind damit gestellt.

 

Engineering Dobersek GmbH
Pastorenkamp 31
41169 Mönchengladbach

Tel. 02161 90108-0
Fax 02161 90108-20/-30

info@dobersek.com

ww.dobersek.com

 

Stand: August 2013