Pfeiffer Willich – Turf off the roll

Ajax Amsterdam, Real Madrid –and of course Borussia Mönchengladbach - play on their turf. Prior to the football world cup, Brazil was interested in roll out turf from Willich. Currently the German Sport University Cologne is doing research on behalf of a sports goods manufacturer, which is being carried out on turf provided by Gebrüder Pfeiffer. The object is to determine how the ideal transmission of power between the athlete, shoe and grass functions. On real grass mind you! Several clubs that turned to using an artificial grass surface to save money, reverted back to using real natural grass after players complained of pains in their joints, ligaments or in their backs.

Those who visit the company Gebrüder Pfeiffer in Willich will find themselves right in the middle of the farming community of Knickelsdorf lying between Neersen and Schiefbahn. Although Arnd Pfeiffer, a graduate engineer, is the third generation in his family to work in the company, the production of roll turf is still fairly recent. At the time of the founding of the company by his grandfather Peter Pfeiffer in 1972, the success story of the small horticulture and landscaping gardening business could not be foreseen. As subcontractor for the maintenance of green areas in the city of Düsseldorf, Pfeiffer was given the contract to lay roll turf in a rainwater retention basin. At that time nobody had heard of “roll turf”, so Pfeiffer obtained the turf from the nearest source in Lower Saxony. Since the contract went particularly well their ambition was awakened. In the following year they tried it out themselves in Willich.

A start had been made and it was convincing. Many landscape gardeners soon realised that ready prepared turf in rolls not only looked better in the eyes of the customer, but also brought in fewer complaints and a higher turnover than when simply sewing grass seeds. However, whoever thinks this is a fantastic business idea which anyone can easily earn a lot of money with, they are way off the mark. Turf is not just any turf. For football and golf there are different kinds of turf and every grass used in the roll turf is a mixture of seven to eight kinds of seeds. It was a long road with many setbacks before Pfeiffer reached today’s results.

Roll turf needs time to grow, taking about a year before it is ready. Until then it is mown three times a week and given fertilizer and water as required. Every other day it is cut back a couple of millimetres and if necessary the grass cuttings have to be vacuumed off and the grass groomed. Golf course turf has a very fine leaf structure with up to 100,000 shoots per m , the normal number being around 20,000. In order to minimise the rolling resistance the turf is cut short leaving 4-5 mm standing. Turf on a mown football pitch still has at least a 28 mm blade height. With golf it is all about the speed of the green. The further the ball rolls the better.

The company’s roll turf business developed slowly but has grown steadily. It began with an area covering 2,000 m , increased to 3,000 m and 5,000 m then 1 ha and 2 ha. Today Pfeiffer has reached a total of 2.5 square kilometres under cultivation in different areas spread over the whole of the Niederrhein, not only in Willich but also in Wachtendonk or Weeze. Pfeiffer is even active in the Netherlands near Arcen in Limburg. The soil there is particularly suitable for growing sports turf because of its sandy consistency. On the one hand staff have to travel a lot due to a number of the strips of land being some distance away, but on the other hand the company can offer a wide range of soils. Crop rotation is practiced and the cultivated areas are swapped with the farmers every year.

The turning point for sports turf was brought about by the “rain game”, Germany v. Poland in 1974 in Frankfurt. On that occasion the football pitch was flooded. Thereafter criteria were laid down according to which a pitch must, except in exceptional circumstances, always be fit to be played on. More important still were the 2000s years when modern football stadiums were developed. The prototype is the arena in Amsterdam followed by Arnheim and Schalke. The tribunes in the arenas were built higher and the roofs mostly closed. In the long run turf cannot survive there because no wind blows; it is in a prevailing round the clock damp environment and there is a lack of direct sunlight. In the first year Amsterdam used up six football pitches. The first pitch supplied by Pfeiffer lasted four months, in other words twice as long. When Arnd Pfeiffer, who wrote his degree thesis on turf pitches in modern stadiums, talks about grass, then it becomes a science in itself. At a time when businessmen were in charge of football clubs they always chose the cheapest offer, based on the maxim – any kind of turf will do. It was not until the big clubs employed influential green keepers that a rethink took place. Up till now the furthest away that Willich turf has been delivered has been to Porto and Istanbul. Each rolls ways a ton and provides turf 15 metres long and 1.2 metres wide. A stadium requires 450 such rolls.

Early on FC Porto became a regular customer. After the opening match the turf on the pitch in the new stadium was ruined. New turf was needed for the Champions League game against Manchester United. Following the successful premiere Pfeifffer received a phone call from England, the turf country par excellence. When Manchester ordered turf made in Willich, Celtic Glasgow and Real Madrid followed. The breakthrough was made, but at the same time hardly a stadium in Germany had been supplied. Schalke was the first. Today Pfeiffer is the main supplier for the German Football league. Some clubs play on hybrid turf, in other words natural turf combined with artificial fibres. Pfeifffer is also experimenting in this area. It is difficult to believe that there is only a workforce of 50 behind their success story. However success has not gone to the heads of Arnold Pfeiffer and his two co-managers. They have put the company on a stable two-pronged basis. Apart from roll turf there is still the horticulture and landscape gardening side of the business. There is no grand building with a giant billboard. On their first visit many customers drive past, but nearly all of them are happy to come again because not only the quality and customer service are just right, but also the atmosphere. Many employees have been working for the company for 20 years or more. In the showroom there is a Borussia Mönchengladbach football shirt with autographs of the players testifying to a contented customer. The fact that the Borussians play on turf supplied by Pfeiffer makes Willich fans particularly proud.


Gebr. Peiffer GbR
Fonger 41
47877 Willich

Tel.: +49 (0)2154 - 955-150
Fax: +49 (0)2154 - 955-064




As at: November 2014

X

Peiffer Willich – Rasen von der Rolle

Auf ihrem Rasen spielen Ajax Amsterdam, Real Madrid – und natürlich Borussia Mönchengladbach. Vor der Fußballweltmeisterschaft interessierte sich Brasilien für den Rollrasen aus Willich. Jetzt forscht die Sporthochschule Köln auf Rasenstücken der Gebrüder Peiffer im Auftrag eines Sportartikelherstellers, wie die ideale Kraftübertragung zwischen Sportler, Schuh und Rasen funktioniert. Auf echtem Rasen wohlgemerkt. Viele Vereine, die aus Kostengründen auf Kunstrasen ausgewichen sind, kehrten zu echtem Naturrasen zurück, nachdem die Spieler über Schmerzen in den Gelenken, Bändern oder im Rücken klagten.

Wer das Unternehmen Gebrüder Peiffer in Willich besucht, landet mitten in der Landwirtschaft in Knickelsdorf, zwischen Neersen und Schiefbahn. Und obwohl mit Dipl. Ing. Arnd Peiffer bereits die dritte Generation im Unternehmen arbeitet, ist der Fertigrasen-Zuchtbetrieb noch relativ jung. Bei der Gründung durch den Großvater Peter Peiffer 1972 war die Erfolgsgeschichte des kleinen Garten- und Landschaftsbaubetriebes noch überhaupt nicht abzusehen. Als Subunternehmer für die Grünpflege in der Stadt Düsseldorf erhielt Peiffer den Auftrag, für ein Regenrückhaltebecken einen Rollrasen zu verlegen. Am Niederrhein kannte damals kein Mensch „Rollrasen“. Also holte sich Peiffer den Rollrasen aus der nächstgelegenen Quelle in Niedersachsen. Als der Auftrag bestens verlief, war der Ehrgeiz geweckt: Im Jahr darauf wird es in Willich selber ausprobiert.

Der Anfang war gemacht und überzeugte. Viele Landschaftsgärtner erkannten bald sehr schnell, dass fertiger Rollrasen für den Kunden nicht nur besser aussieht, sondern weniger Reklamationen und mehr Umsatz bringt als eine bloße Einsaat. Doch wer jetzt denkt, das sei eine tolle Geschäftsidee, mit der jedermann leicht viel Geld verdienen kann, liegt daneben. Rasen ist keineswegs gleich Rasen. Für Fußball und Golf gibt es verschiedene Rasensorten, jeder Rollrasen wird aus sieben bis acht Saaten gemischt. Bis Peiffer zu den heutigen Ergebnissen gelangte, musste das Unternehmen einen langen Weg mit vielen Rückschlägen zurücklegen.

Ein Rollrasen braucht auch seine Zeit. Er ist etwa in einem Jahr fertig, bis dahin wird er wöchentlich dreimal gemäht, je nach Bedarf muss gedüngt und gewässert werden. Jeden zweiten Tag gehen ein paar Millimeter wieder runter, notfalls muss das Schnittgut abgesaugt und der Rasen gestriegelt werden. Für Golfplätze ist Peiffer der einzige Rasenzüchter bundesweit. Der Golfrasen hat eine ganz feine Blattstruktur mit bis zu 100.000 Trieben je qm, normal sind etwa 20.000. Um den Rollwiderstand zu minimieren, wird der Rasen tief geschnitten. Es bleiben 4-5 mm stehen, der gemähte Fußballrasen hat immerhin noch 28 mm Halmhöhe. Beim Golfen geht es um die Schnelligkeit des Green. Je weiter der Ball rollt, desto besser.

Das Rasengeschäft hat sich langsam entwickelt und ist stetig gewachsen. Begonnen wurde mit 2000 qm, das steigerte sich auf 3000 und 5000 qm, dann 1 ha, 2 ha. Heute liegt Peiffer bei 250 ha, wobei die Flächen über den gesamten Niederrhein verteilt sind, neben Willich auch in Wachtendonk oder Weeze. Ja selbst in den Niederlanden ist Peiffer tätig. Bei Arcen in Limburg werden Böden genutzt, die durch ihre sandige Beschaffenheit besonders für Sportrasen geeignet sind. Einerseits sind die Mitarbeiter durch die Außenacker viel unterwegs, auf der anderen Seite kann der Betrieb eine große Bandbreite an Böden anbieten. Und für die Fruchtfolge werden die Äcker mit den Landwirten jedes Jahr getauscht.

Die Wende im Sportrasen brachte das Regenspiel Deutschland : Polen 1974 in Frankfurt. Damals ist das Spielfeld „abgesoffen“. Danach wurden Kriterien festgelegt, nach denen ein Rasenplatz fast immer bespielbar sein muss. Noch wichtiger sind die 2000er Jahre, in denen die modernen Fußballstadien entwickelt wurden. Der Prototyp ist die Amsterdam Arena. Es folgten Arnheim und Schalke. Die Tribünen der Arenen werden höher gebaut, die Dächer sind meistens geschlossen. Auf Dauer kann dort kein Rasen überleben, weil es keine Windbewegung mehr gibt, rund um die Uhr ein feuchtes Milieu herrscht und das direkte Sonnenlicht fehlt. Im ersten Jahr „verbrauchte“ die Amsterdam Arena sechs Rasen. Der erste Peiffer-Rasen hielt vier Monate, also doppelt so lang. Wenn Arnd Peiffer, der seine Diplomarbeit über Rasen in modernen Stadien geschrieben hat,  erzählt, wird Rasen zu einer Wissenschaft für sich. Als noch die Kaufmänner in den Vereinen das Sagen hatten, wählten sie immer das billigste Angebot. Nach dem Motto: Rasen ist gleich Rasen. Ist er aber nicht. Erst als die großen Vereine einflussreiche Greenkeeper beschäftigten, passierte ein Umdenken. Am weitesten lieferten die Willicher Rasen nach Porto und Istanbul. Jede Rolle wiegt eine Tonne und liefert einen Rasen von 15 Metern Länge und 1,2 Metern Breite. Für ein Stadion braucht man 450 Rollen.

Früh wurde der FC Porto zum Stammkunden. Der Rasen im neuen Stadion war nach dem Eröffnungsspiel umgepflügt. Für das Champions League Spiel mit Manchester United musste ein neuer her. Nach der geglückten Premiere erhielt Peiffer in Willich einen Anruf aus England, dem Rasenland par excellence. Als Manchester United Rasen made in Willich orderte, Celtic Glasgow und Real Madrid folgten, war der Durchbruch geschafft – aber kaum ein Stadion in Deutschland beliefert. Schalke war der erste. Heute ist Peiffer in der Bundesliga der führende Lieferant. Einige Vereine spielen jetzt auf Hybridrasen, also Naturrasen mit Kunststoffteilen. Auch Peiffer experimentiert auf diesem Terrain.  Kaum zu glauben, dass hinter dieser Erfolgsgeschichte nur 50 Mitarbeiter stehen. Arnold Peiffer und seine beiden Mitgeschäftsführer ist der Erfolg nicht in den Kopf gestiegen. Sie haben das Unternehmen solide auf zwei Beine gestellt: Neben Rollrasen gibt es immer noch den Garten- und Landschaftsbau. Ein großartiges Gebäude mit Riesenwerbeschild gibt es auch nicht. Beim ersten Mal fahren viele Kunden einfach am Gelände vorbei. Aber fast alle kommen gerne wieder. Weil nicht nur das Qualität und der Service stimmen, sondern auch das Klima. Viele Mitarbeiter sind 20 Jahre und länger im Unternehmen tätig. Im Verkaufsraum zeugt ein Fußballtrikot von Borussia Mönchengladbach mit den Autogrammen der Spieler von einem zufriedenen Kunden. Dass die Borussen auf Rasen von Peiffer spielen, macht viele Willicher Fans im Betrieb besonders stolz.

 

Gebr. Peiffer GbR
Fonger 41
47877 Willich

Tel.: +49 (0)2154 - 955-150
Fax: +49 (0)2154 - 955-064

kontakt@peiffer-willich.de

www.peiffer-willich.de

 

Stand: November 2014