Hoppen Innenausbau can't be topped

Hoppen Innenausbau in Mönchengladbach is not your typical carpentry. Everything is very different at Hoppen – and very successful at the same time. The business newspaper "Wirtschaftsblatt" awarded the three owners the title "Entrepreneurs of the Year" in 2010, the Kulturkreis der Deutschen Wirtschaft (Association of Arts and Culture of the German Economy) chose Hoppen as the winner of the 2009 Deutsche Kulturförderpreis (German Arts Sponsorship Award), Minister Ursula von der Leyen awarded the business with a prize for its "family-friendly HR policies". Hoppen also carried off other awards, such as "Office of the Year" and "Best Office". What is the secret to its success? Creativity and workmanship are the key requirements. But Hoppen also has the declared intention of being one of the best. Other clues can be found in the corporate principles: the number one objective is customer satisfaction. "The customer is the most important person in the business." But not everyone can become a customer. There are enough orders coming in, and no need to chase every possible business opportunity. Hoppen only works with partners and customers who attach great importance to compliance with the agreed payment periods. "We choose our customers," Ralf Hoppen says, without sounding the least bit arrogant. Hoppen no longer takes part in any calls for tenders.


Behind every success, behind every recipe there are special people: Hoppen Innenausbau is a family business. The trio consists of master carpenter Ralf Hoppen (48), who did his Abitur (German school leaving certificate allowing university entrance) at adult education college in the evenings, his wife Katrin (45), who comes from the hotel sector, and cousin Peter Hoppen (49), who studied business studies. As kids the cousins played together in the sandpit, later running riots with their mopeds round the Rheindahlen area. Even before they started the company together in 1988, the logo was ready: the name Hoppen with a red sphere in place of the "O". Hoppen explored new avenues from the very beginning. Back then it was not usual for craftsmen to put advertising on building site fences. Today the company is praised as a fantastic example of the future of German craftsmanship.

The business masters the full range of interior construction and offers everything from a single source. Hoppen has a long list of references, from the first German Mod's hair salon in Mönchengladbach, the Düsseldorf Fashion House, several H&M fashion stores, car dealerships such as BMW Hammer, banks, hotels, steak houses, advertising agencies and doctors' surgeries. For more than 25 years Hoppen has been working for Japanese institutions and companies, from the embassy to Toshiba and Hitachi. Hoppen is a member of Creative Partner, a nation-wide alliance of 204 top-performing interior construction companies. A visit to the business by colleagues set the wheels in motion. Ten "consultants" mercilessly analyzed the business and came up with points of criticism. The Hoppen trio began turning the business upside down. Perhaps the best measure that Hoppen implemented is the "Seal of Quality Programme" of the Berufsgenossenschaft Holz (professional timber trade association) with the goal of ensuring more occupational safety and health protection at work. The work stations were re-organized, heavy toolboxes were mounted on wheels, what used to be stored on the floor was hung up on the wall at the right grip height. Together with the health insurance fund, the company analysed the movement processes to put an end to poor posture. To this end some machines in the hall were moved. A computerised material procurement process ensures safety, less stress and a streamlined workshop.

Hoppen is not just a family business on the top-floor level. Family is important throughout the company. Two mothers, or as Hoppen sees them, "extremely well-qualified staff", work in the office. The working hours are arranged very flexibly so that they can meet the needs of both the children and the business. Both have access to the IT system at home too, and telephones calls can be forwarded to their homes. Accommodating the staff's needs this way brings its rewards. The staff get actively involved. Everyone got on board to make the business a smoke-free business. Another example is the Lower Rhine music festival: it started with building a stage seven years ago. Then light and sound were added. Over the years this turned into an indispensable voluntary commitment. Trainees and young members of the team pick up the young musicians from the airport and show them the area in their free time. Today the festival bookkeeping is done at Katrin Hoppen's desk. She also regularly writes a style column in the home interiors and design magazine "Schöner Wohnen" and is involved in Netzwerk W in Mönchengladbach which helps women re-join the workplace after taking time off to raise a family. And despite all this commitment and success, they have remained wonderfully grounded. They are not tempted into venturing out into the world. Mönchengladbach is their home. The Hoppens love the Lower Rhine region and focus their work on this region too.


Hoppen Innenausbau GmbH
Schloßstraße 46-52
41238 Mönchengladbach-Rheydt

Tel. 02166 99 190-0

X

Hoppen Innenausbau – nicht zu toppen

Hoppen Innenausbau in Mönchengladbach ist keine gewöhnliche Tischlerei. Bei Hoppen ist alles anders – und das mit viel Erfolg. Das "Wirtschaftsblatt" zeichnete die drei Inhaber 2010 als "Unternehmer des Jahres" aus, der Kulturkreis der Deutschen Wirtschaft machte Hoppen zum Gewinner des Deutschen Kulturförderpreises 2009, Ministerin Ursula von der Leyen verlieh dem Betrieb eine Auszeichnung für seine "familienbewusste Personalpolitik". Weitere Preise kamen hinzu, etwa "Office of the Year" oder "Best Office". Was ist das Geheimnis des Erfolgs? Kreativität und handwerkliches Know-how sind vorausgesetzt. Aber Hoppen will erklärtermaßen stets zu den Besten zählen. In den Unternehmensleitsätzen findet man weitere Antworten: An erster Stelle steht die Kundenzufriedenheit. "Der Kunde ist die wichtigste Person im Betrieb." Aber nicht jeder kann Kunde werden. Die Auftragslage ist gut, man muss nicht jedem Geschäft nachlaufen. Hoppen arbeitet nur mit Partnern und Kunden zusammen, die größten Wert auf die Einhaltung vereinbarter Zahlungsfristen legen. "Wir suchen uns unsere Kunden aus", sagt Ralf Hoppen und klingt dabei überhaupt nicht arrogant. An Ausschreibungen beteiligt sich Hoppen heute überhaupt nicht mehr.

Hinter jedem Erfolg und allen Rezepten stehen besondere Menschen: Hoppen Innenausbau ist ein Familienbetrieb. Das Trio bilden Tischlermeister Ralf Hoppen (48), der an der Abendschule sein Abitur nachholte, seine Frau Katrin (45), die aus der Hotelbranche kommt, und Cousin Peter Hoppen (49), der Betriebswirtschaft studierte. Die Cousins haben schon im Sandkasten zusammen gespielt, später mit den Mofas die Gegend um Rheindahlen unsicher gemacht. Noch bevor sie 1988 die gemeinsame Firma starteten, war das Logo fertig: der Name Hoppen mit der roten Kugel an Stelle des "O". Von Anfang an ging Hoppen neue Wege. Damals war es noch nicht üblich, dass Handwerker Werbung an Baustellenzäunen machten. Heute wird das Unternehmen als phantastisches Beispiel für die Zukunftsfähigkeit des deutschen Handwerks gerühmt.

Der Betrieb beherrscht den kompletten Innenausbau und bietet alles aus einer Hand. Hoppen hat eine lange Referenzliste, ob es der erste deutsche Mod's Hair-Salon in Mönchengladbach war, das Fashionhaus Düsseldorf, mehrere H&M Modehäuser, Autohäuser wie BMW Hammer, Banken, Hotels, Steakhäuser, Werbeagenturen und Arztpraxen. Seit über 25 Jahren arbeitet Hoppen für japanische Einrichtungen und Firmen, von der Botschaft bis Toshiba und Hitachi. Hoppen ist Mitglied der Creative Partner, ein bundesweiter Zusammenschluss von 204 leistungsstarken Unternehmen des Innenausbaus. Die Initialzündung war der Besuch der Kollegen im Betrieb. Zehn "Unternehmensberater" haben alles gnadenlos analysiert und Kritikpunkte benannt. Das Hoppen-Trio begann, den Betrieb umzukrempeln. Die vielleicht beste Maßnahme, die Hoppen umsetzte, ist das "Gütesiegel Programm" der Berufsgenossenschaft Holz mit dem Ziel, für mehr Arbeitssicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz im Betrieb zu sorgen. Die Arbeitsplätze wurden neu organisiert, schwere Werkzeugkästen auf Räder montiert, was vorher auf dem Boden abgelegt war, wurde an die Wände in Griffhöhe gehängt. Zusammen mit der Krankenkasse wurden Bewegungsabläufe analysiert, um Haltungsfehler abzustellen. Dafür wurde manche Maschine in der Halle verrückt. Eine computerisierte Materialbeschaffung sorgt für Sicherheit, Stressabbau und eine schlanke Werkstatt.

Hoppen ist nicht nur auf der Ebene der Chefs ein Familienbetrieb. Familie wird überall groß geschrieben. Im Büro arbeiten zwei Mütter, für Hoppen "super qualifizierte Mitarbeiter". Damit sie Kinder und Arbeit unter einen Hut bekommen, wird die Arbeitszeit sehr flexibel gehalten. Beide haben auch von zu Hause Zugriff auf die EDV, die Telefone können in die Privatwohnungen weitergeschaltet werden. Solch ein Entgegenkommen wird honoriert. Die Mitarbeiter bringen sich selber ein. Alle zogen mit, den Betrieb komplett rauchfrei zu machen. Oder beim Niederrhein-Musikfestival. Vor sieben Jahren fing es damit an, eine Bühne zu bauen. Dann kamen Licht und Ton hinzu. Daraus wurde ein inzwischen unverzichtbares ehrenamtliches Engagement. Azubis und junge Mitarbeiter holen die jungen Musiker vom Flughafen ab und zeigen ihn in ihrer Freizeit die Gegend. Heute läuft die Festival-Buchhaltung über den Schreibtisch von Katrin Hoppen. Sie schreibt außerdem regelmäßig eine Stil-Kolumne in "Schöner Wohnen" und engagiert sich beim Netzwerk W in Mönchengladbach für den Wiedereinstieg von Frauen nach der Familienphase in den Beruf. Und bei all dem Engagement und Erfolg bleiben sie wunderbar geerdet. Sie zieht es nicht hinaus in die große weite Welt. Mönchengladbach ist die Heimat der Cousins, die Hoppens lieben den Niederrhein und konzentrieren sich mit ihrer Arbeit auf diese Region.

 

Hoppen Innenausbau GmbH
Schloßstraße 46-52
41238 Mönchengladbach-Rheydt

Tel. 02166 99 190-0


info@hoppen-innenausbau.de

www.hoppen-innenausbau.de