X

District of Wesel: At the intersection of the major European development axes

Rural on the one hand, but with an industrial character on the other, the Wesel District lies to the right and the left of the Rhine, Europe‘s most important waterway. Furthermore, the Netherlands and the Ruhr metropolitan region are just a short distance away.

The good infrastructure, the favorable situation and the positive economic development in the region have boosted demand for industrial plots of land in the long-term. Around 200 hectares are available to investors for all sorts of utilization concepts.

 

Breathing new life into old halls – mines offer creative space

The district of Wesel was affected early by structural change. As mining declined and pulled out of the area – such as in Moers and to some extent in Kamp-Lintfort, they were replaced by technology and start-up centers offering space to pioneering new firms. Other former colliery sites in Dinslaken and Neukirchen-Vluyn are set to follow this example. The mix of industry, housing, local supplies and free time facilities will enrich the urban development landscape. In co-operation with the Duisburg harbour authorities one of the largest logistic parks in the region is being developed on a former coal storage yard in Kamp-Lintfort.

 

Strong industries with a growing services sector

The economy in the Wesel District has a strong SME presence. Whereas mining used to be the predominant industry, today the services sector is occupying more and more space. Strong industries still include chemicals and mechanical engineering as well as metalworking.

Many companies are the market leaders for their products; thus the export rate of the companies in the Wesel district is high. For this reason, and because of its location on the Rhine at the intersection of major European development axes, logistics has become one of the key sectors in the area. It accounts for one in ten jobs in this district.

The Lippe Estuary Area, where the Rhine and the Wesel-Datteln channel meet, is the heart of the logistics sector. Around 50 hectares of space is available here for logistics-oriented companies.

 

Places to work and live

The district doesn’t just provide space for the local economy; because of its natural cultivated landscape it is also a popular free time and residential area. For sports fans, almost anything is possible in the Wesel District, from cycling and riding to water sports. For those interested in culture and history, sights such as the archeological park in Xanten, the Kloster Kamp monastery and the Prussian Museum in Wesel are supra-regional highlights.

 

Towns and municipalities in the district of Wesel:

 

Contact:

EntwicklungsAgentur Wirtschaft (EAW)
Michael Düchting
Leiter der EAW
Reeser Landstr. 31
D - 46483 Wesel

Telefon: +49 281 / 207 2024
Fax: +49 281 / 207 4022
Email: michael.duechting@kreis-wesel.de
www.eaw-kreiswesel.de

X

Kreis Wesel: Im Schnittpunkt der großen europäischen Entwicklungsachsen.

Einerseits ländlich geprägt, auf der anderen Seite mit industriellen Strukturen liegt der Kreis Wesel rechts und links des Rheins, Europas wichtigster Wasserstraße mit kurzen Wegen zu den Niederlanden und zur Metropole Ruhr.

Die gute Infrastruktur, die Lagegunst sowie die gute wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in der Region beleben die Nachfrage nach Gewerbegrundstücken nachhaltig. Für Investoren stehen rund 200 ha für die unterschiedlichsten Nutzungsansprüche zur Verfügung

 

Neues Leben in alten Hallen - Zechen bieten kreativen Raum.

Der Kreis Wesel wurde schon früh vom Strukturwandel erfasst. Dort, wo der Bergbau sich zurückzog – wie in Moers und teilweise in Kamp-Lintfort – entstanden Technologie- und Gründerzentren, die zukunftsweisenden Firmen Platz bieten. In Dinslaken und Neukirchen-Vluyn stehen weitere ehemalige Zechenstandorte für eine Nachfolgenutzung an. Hier wird ein Mix aus Gewerbe, Wohnen, Nahversorgung und Freizeit für eine städtebauliche Bereicherung sorgen. In Kamp-Lintfort entsteht auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Kohlenlagerplatzes in Kooperation mit dem Hafen Duisburg zudem einer der größten Logistikparks der Region.

 

Starke Branchen mit wachsendem Dienstleistungssektor.

Die Wirtschaft im Kreis Wesel ist stark mittelständisch geprägt. War früher der Bergbau bestimmend, so nimmt heute der Dienstleistungssektor einen immer größeren Raum ein. Starke Branchen sind nach wie vor die Chemie und der Maschinenbau sowie die Metallverarbeitung.

Viele Betriebe sind mit ihren Produkten Marktführer; entsprechend hoch ist die Exportquote der Firmen im Kreis Wesel. Aus diesem Grund und auch aufgrund der Lage am Rhein und im Schnittpunkt wichtiger europäischer Entwicklungsachsen hat sich vor allem die Logistik zu einer Schwerpunktbranche entwickelt. Jeder zehnte Arbeitsplatz im Kreis hängt von dieser Branche ab.

Das Herz der Logistik schlägt im Lippe-Mündungsraum am Zusammenfluss von Rhein und Wesel-Datteln-Kanal. Hier stehen logistikorientierten Firmen rund 50 ha Fläche kurzfristig zur Verfügung.

 

Orte zum Arbeiten und Leben.

Der Kreis bietet nicht nur Raum für die Wirtschaft, sondern ist mit seiner naturverbundenen Kulturlandschaft auch eine beliebte Freizeit- und Wohnregion. Für die sportlich Orientierten ist im Kreis Wesel fast alles machbar, vom Radfahren und Reiten bis hin zum Wassersport. Für die kulturhistorisch Interessierten setzen Einrichtungen wie der Archäologischen Park in Xanten, das Kloster Kamp und das Preußenmuseum Wesel die überregionalen Highlights.

 

Städte und Gemeinden im Kreis Wesel.

 

Kontakt:

EntwicklungsAgentur Wirtschaft (EAW)
Michael Düchting
Leiter der EAW
Reeser Landstr. 31
D - 46483 Wesel

Telefon: +49 281 / 207 2024
Fax: +49 281 / 207 4022
Email: michael.duechting@kreis-wesel.de
www.eaw-kreiswesel.de