Life is fun in the Niederrhein region

No mountains, no coast, no major metropolis. And yet people still live – very happily – in the Lower Rhine region. For the Lower Rhine region is a unique and diverse cultural landscape which, once you have got to know, touches your heart and creates an everlasting bond. The friendly, sociable, jovial, down-to-earth and yet cosmopolitan brand of people you find in the Lower Rhine region are another major reason why life is fun here.

If the place where you live is a good place to live, you usually enjoy working there too. The good quality of life is one of the key reasons for the Lower Rhine’s appeal and one of the region’s main ‘soft assets’.

Natural surroundings

Meadows, pastures, woods, fields, rivers, lakes – an unspoilt country where people work, recharge their batteries, and can see for miles. Nature and its protection is an integral part of the planning, even in cities in the Lower Rhine region. The people have the beauty of nature right on their doorstep, hence they don’t just want to live off Mother Nature, they also want to live with her and for her.

At the Niederrhein region, the land between two rivers, between the Maas in the West and the Rhine in the East, water has played a key role since time immemorial, beyond its economic function as a transport path and fuel for industry. Water is life, water is nature, water brings vitality to the natural surroundings. Thus, the people there don’t just like taking trips into the green countryside, but also into the blue waters. Even Siberian wild geese are not afraid of the long journey to the banks of the Rhine.


2,000 years ago the Romans brought civilization to the Niederrhein region. Traces of this Roman past can still be seen today, particularly in Xanten – cathedral city, Roman town and home of Siegfried the dragon-slayer.

The region’s cultural history continues through to the Middle Ages, which gave the Niederrhein region many dearly loved churches, palaces, castles, parks and city center outlines. One million visitors a year come from all over the world to visit the pilgrimage town of Kevelaer alone. Alongside Fatima and Santiago di Compostela, Kevelaer is one of the most significant Christian pilgrimage sites in Europe.

Today history and the present merge into a rich cultural symbiosis which attracts people from near and far. The most popular among the tourist sites are the unique museums like Schloss Moyland in Bedburg-Hau with its Beuys Archive, the Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach and the Museum Island Hombroich with its former missile base and the Langen Foundation at the gates of the city Neuss.

Theater, opera, concerts, cultural festivals – there’s always something happening in the Niederrhein region and something for everybody to enjoy. And if the cultural diversity still isn’t enough for you, you can take the short trip to the nearby Ruhr region with its major cities, Düsseldorf and Cologne.


Top-level sport has found a good home in the Lower Rhine region with its modern stadiums and halls. Mönchengladbach offers Borussia Bundesliga football and Europe’s biggest hockey arena where the top European and worldwide field hockey athletes can play their championships.

In ice hockey it is Krefeld that has the edge; the Penguins play there in the top league. But there are also warmer sports in Krefeld – on the long-established gallop racetrack in the city forest, for instance.

Amateur and popular sport, whether organized in the countless associations and clubs, or enjoyed by individuals on a more spontaneous basis, whether as a hobby or ambitious competitive sport, can relish in the ideal conditions in the Lower Rhine region. Thanks to the nearby countryside, sport is possible here in all forms: on foot, on wheels or on horseback; with or without a ball; on land, on or in the water, on the ice or in the air; alone, with friends or in a team; inside or outside.

And let’s not forget: The Niederrhein region is home to Europe’s largest integrated network of cycle paths, almost entirely without hills. However, what is an advantage for cyclists is a disadvantage for skiing enthusiasts. Yet the Lower Rhine even has something for them: Alpine sports are available in the indoor skiing slopes hall in Neuss, which is open 365 days a year for skiing and toboggan rides.

Living and life in the Niederrhein region

Town or countryside, right in the heart of it or away from the hustle and bustle? The Niederrhein region caters to all different ways of life. And there are countless other options in between town and country, ensuring there is somewhere to live for everybody, whatever their wishes. In this region you can afford to reside in pleasant surroundings that would be far too expensive in the big cities.

Everything the good life requires is available in the Niederrhein region. Take education, for example: kindergardens, all sorts of private and public schools, even an international school in Neuss, the universities in Kleve, Kamp-Lintfort, Krefeld and Mönchengladbach provide for a rich educational landscape; universities in Aachen, Duisburg, Düsseldorf and Cologne are also nearby.

And what about shopping? The large, cross-regional, attractive shopping streets, especially in Krefeld and Mönchengladbach have something for all keen shoppers; individual, refreshing, small-scale shopping streets in many of the other towns, little towns and the outskirts offer a very different and personal shopping experience; the popular weekly markets with their regional and freshly harvested products really can be found all over the region, rounded off with many fun craft, jumble and other colorful markets as well as specialist stores and superstores. And if that’s not enough, Kö in Düsseldorf or the designer outlet Roermond are just a stone’s throw away.

What about gastronomy? From award-winning haute cuisine to rustic country guesthouses – the Niederrhein caters to every kind of palate. In the last few years a restaurant scene has developed that does not have to shy away from comparison in any aspect - quality, diversity nor flair. The hotel business has also caught up and offers places to spend the night that are such a joy to stay in, it almost seems a pity to go to sleep. The Niederrhein region has become a popular location for bon vivants.

What about transport? An extensive network of Autobahns and main roads in the region take you in all directions; there are rail connections to the national and international ICE network; flying is possible from Düsseldorf, Weeze and Mönchengladbach airport; local transport is closely integrated in all the region’s municipalities.

What about holidays? Since the Lower Rhine region likes to celebrate, the region has invented ways of celebrating all year round. In the summer you have the shooting festivals and fairs, in winter the carnival. Spring and autumn are the high seasons, with festivals, open-air concerts, parties and balls, medieval knights and Roman festivals and other games as well as the largest fashion show in the world (in Krefeld). It’s easy to forget you have to work with all the celebrations going on...

X

Das Leben macht Spaß am Niederrhein

Keine Berge, keine Küste, keine Millionenmetropole. Und trotzdem leben am Niederrhein Menschen – und zwar äußerst gerne. Denn der Niederrhein ist eine einzigartige vielfältige Kulturlandschaft, die, wenn man mit ihr erst einmal Freundschaft geschlossen hat, die Seele berührt und auf ewig bindet. Auch der freundliche, gesellige, gemütliche, bodenständige, dennoch weltoffene Menschenschlag am Niederrhein trägt eine Menge dazu bei, dass das Leben Spaß macht am Niederrhein.

Wo man gut leben kann, dort arbeitet man auch gerne. Die hohe Lebensqualität bestimmt die Attraktivität des Niederrhein auf der sanften Habenseite der Standortfaktoren maßgeblich mit.

 

Natur

Wiesen, Weiden, Wälder, Felder, Flüsse, Seen – eine urwüchsige Naturlandschaft, in der die Menschen arbeiten, sich erholen und vor allem weit blicken können. Natur und deren Schutz ist fester planerischer Bestandteil selbst der Großstädte am Niederrhein. So haben die Niederrheiner Natur stets direkt vor ihrer Haustüre, denn sie wollen nicht nur von der Natur leben, sondern auch mit ihr und für sie.

Am Niederrhein, der Zweistromregion zwischen niederländischer Maas im Westen und Rhein im Osten, spielt Wasser seit jeher eine zentrale Rolle, auch jenseits der Wirtschaftsfunktion als Transportweg und Betriebsstoff für die Industrie. Wasser ist Leben, Wasser ist Natur, Wasser bringt Lebendigkeit in die Niederrhein-Natur. So machen die Niederrheiner nicht nur Ausflüge ins Grüne, sondern gerne auch ins Blaue. Selbst die sibirischen Wildgänse scheuen die weite Reise nicht zu den Auen des Rheins.

 

Kultur

Die Römer haben vor 2.000 Jahren die Hochkultur an den Niederrhein importiert. Die Spuren der römischen Vergangenheit können heute besonders deutlich in der Dom-, Römer- und Siegfriedstadt Xanten besichtigt werden.

Die Kultur-Spur zieht sich weiter durch das Mittelalter, das dem Niederrhein eine innig geliebte Vielzahl an Kirchen, Schlössern, Burgen, Parks und Stadtkern-Grundrissen vererbt hat. Allein rund eine Million Besucher reisen alljährlich aus aller Welt an, um die Marienstadt Kevelaer zu besuchen. Neben Fatima und Santiago di Compostela ist Kevelaer eines der bedeutendsten Zentren christlicher Wallfahrt in Europa.

Heute verschmelzen Historie und Jetztzeit zu einer reichhaltigen Kultur-Symbiose, die Menschen aus nah und fern zu einem Besuch animiert. Mit ganz oben auf der Visitenliste stehen die einzigartigen Museen wie Schloss Moyland in Bedburg-Hau mit seinem Beuys-Archiv, das Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach und das Museum Insel Hombroich mit Raketenstation und Foundation Langen vor den Toren der Stadt Neuss.

Theater, Oper, Konzerte, Kulturfestivals – am Niederrhein ist immer etwas los und für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei. Und wem die Abwechslung noch nicht genug ist, für den sind die Kulturpfade ins benachbarte Ruhrgebiet und die Metropolen Düsseldorf und Köln sehr kurz.

 

Sport

Am Niederrhein ist der Spitzensport in modernen Stadien und Hallen zuhause. Mönchengladbach liefert mit ihrer Borussia Bundesliga-Fußball und dem Hockeypark Europas größte Hockey-Arena, in der die Europa- und Weltelite des Feldhockeys ihre Meisterschaften austragen.

Eishockey hat in Krefeld die Nase vorn; dort spielen die Pinguine eiskalt in der obersten Liga mit. In Krefeld geht es auch warmblütig zu – auf der traditionsreichen Galopp-Rennbahn im Stadtwald.

Der Amateur- und Breitensport, ob organisiert in den ungezählten Vereinen und Clubs oder spontan privat, ob als reines Hobby und als ambitionierter Leistungssport, findet am Niederrhein durchweg beste Bedingungen. Denn Sport ist hier, vor allem Dank der Nähe zur Natur, in allen Formen möglich: zu Fuß, auf Rädern oder auf dem Pferderücken; mit oder ohne Ball; zu Lande, auf oder im Wasser, auf dem Eis oder in der Luft; alleine, mit Freunden oder in einer Mannschaft; drinnen oder draußen.

Und nicht zu vergessen: Am Niederrhein erstreckt sich Europas größtes zusammenhängendes Radwegenetz, nahezu ganz ohne Berge. Was dem Radfahrer sein Vorteil, ist dem Ski-Fahrer allerdings sein Nachteil. Doch selbst für diesen bietet der Niederrhein eine Lösung: Alpinen Sport betreibt man in der Skihalle Neuss, die an 365 Tagen im Jahr „Ski und Rodel gut“ vermeldet.

 

Wohnen und Leben

Stadt oder Land, mitten drin oder lieber ein Stückchen weg vom Trubel? Der Niederrhein hat für jeden Wohnwunsch ein Angebot. Und zwischen Stadt und Land verbleiben noch zahllose Varianten, die für alle Ansprüche einen passenden Lebensort bieten. Am Niederrhein kann man sich ein schönes Wohnen leisten, das in den Metropolen fast unbezahlbar wäre.

Alles ist am Niederrhein vorhanden, was es zum guten Leben braucht. Beispiel Bildung: Kindergärten, private und öffentliche Schulen aller Typen, sogar eine Internationale Schule in Neuss, dazu Hochschulen in Kleve, Kamp-Lintfort, Krefeld und Mönchengladbach füllen die reichhaltige Bildungslandkarte; Universitäten in Aachen, Duisburg, Düsseldorf und Köln liegen in unmitttelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Niederrhein.

Beispiel Shopping: Große, überregional attraktive Einkaufsstraßen vor allem in Krefeld und Mönchengladbach bedienen fast jedes Shopping-Herz; individuelle, erfrischend kleinteilige Einkaufsstraßen in vielen der anderen Städte, Städtchen und Randbezirke bieten ein ganz anderes, sehr persönliches Einkaufserlebnis; die beliebten Wochenmärkte mit den erntefrischen Produkten aus der Region gibt es wirklich überall, ergänzt um etliche unterhaltsame Handwerker-, Trödel und sonstige bunte Event-Märkte; Fach- und Großmärkte vervollständigen das Einkaufsangebot; und notfalls sind es bis zur Kö in Düsseldorf oder ins Designer Outlet Roermond nur einen Katzensprung.

Beispiel Gastronomie: Von der Sterne-Küche bis zum urigen Landgasthaus – der Niederrhein lässt für Genießer keinen Wunsch offen. Es hat sich hier in den letzten Jahren eine Restaurant-Szene entwickelt, die in Bezug auf Anspruch, Vielfalt und Flair wirklich keinen Vergleich scheuen muss. Auch die Hotellerie hat nachgezogen und offeriert Übernachtungsorte, die nur zum Schlafen fast zu schade sind. Der Niederrhein ist Destination für Genießer geworden.

Beispiel Verkehr: Bestens ausgebaute Autobahnen und Bundesstraßen führen durch den Niederrhein in alle Himmelsrichtungen; über die Schiene gibt es eine Anbindung an das nationale und internationale ICE-Netz; das Fliegen ist von den Airports in Düsseldorf, Weeze und Mönchengladbach möglich; der Nahverkehr ist in allen Niederrhein-Kommunen engmaschig konzipiert.

Beispiel Feiern: Da der Niederrhein gerne feiert, hat der Niederrhein Feiermöglichkeit für jede Jahrteszeit erfunden. Im Sommer sind es die Schützenfeste und Kirmessen, im Winter der Karneval. Im Frühjahr und Herbst ist die Event-Hochsaison mit Festivals, Open-Air-Konzerten, Partys und Bällen, Ritter-, Römer- und sonstigen Spielen sowie der größten Modenschau der Welt (in Krefeld). Vor lauter Feiern könnte man glatt die Arbeit vergessen...