Success with deep-frozen halal food

In 2013 Mekkafood will be celebrating its 20-year anniversary. To mark the occasion there will be a new cooling and heating station powered by biogas. The company’s energy requirements are enormous because of the deep-frying and shock-freezing. Furthermore, to make sure the company is fit for the future, two additional halls will be built at the company’s base in Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen. The founder and present proprietor of Mekkafood is Wouter P. van Euwijk, a self-made man from Venlo. The 68-year-old has been in the food trade for 50 years – and is bursting with energy: “I don’t want to stop,” he says. He began on the weekly market in Venlo at the age of 18, where he sold bananas at the top of his voice with a top hat on his head. Later he ran a big supermarket, “Ludwig From Venlo” in the town. When he sold it, van Euwijk had money – and even more time. That’s when he started his biggest project: producing halal meat and bakery goods i.e. products that are manufactured according to the rules of the Koran, freezing them while fresh and delivering them to stores deep-frozen. That was completely new and unique. The Dutchman came up with the idea after more and more Muslim customers in his supermarket asked whether the food was halal.

But what does halal mean? In the same way the Jews have rules for kosher foods, the Koran demands that food be halal. Halal simply means “permissible” in Arabic. Pork, blood and alcohol are not permitted. In addition, Muslims may only meat from animals that were not already dead. Because blood is prohibited the animals have to fully bleed dry. The traditional slaughtering of animals for food by one stroke of a very sharp knife across the animal’s throat is not allowed in Germany; the animals are supposed to be anesthetized first. Mekkafood only procures its meat from abattoirs that slaughter the animals according to halal. At the production site in Kaldenkirchen you will find several certificates hanging on the walls issued by inspection bodies confirming this practice for the various countries. The chicken meat comes from the Netherlands and Belgium, the beef from Germany and the lamb from France. Mekkafood attaches great importance to processing the meat within 24 hours after the slaughtering and does not use any meat that is three or four days old. Furthermore, since Mekkafood only processes halal meat, it doesn’t come into contact with pork anywhere.

When van Eeuwijk launched Mekkafood 20 years ago, he began by knocking on the doors of lots of “Turkish shops” and the little “Arab corner stores”, which had taken over many of the previous traditional corner shops. Yet many of these small markets didn’t have freezers. So Mekkafood put a freezer in these stores – thereby gaining loyal customers.  9,000 freezers were distributed this way overall. At the beginning there were language problems. Turks don’t understand Arabic and vice versa. Hence, Mekkafood sent native speakers to the traders to convince them of the products.

Many German animal rights activists have problems with the traditional slaughtering of animals by slitting their throats. Van Eeuwijk doesn’t think the other method, in which the chickens are anesthetized and hung up before their heads are cut off with a machine, is any more “humane”. Cutting the throat of each chicken individually by hand while giving thanks to Allah is perhaps old-fashioned, but perhaps even better for the animal. Every week various halal inspectors come to make sure on behalf of their customers that the production meets the requirements. “The doors to Mekkafood are open. Everyone can see how we produce here.”

Mekkafood began in Venlo. There is still another company there today that focuses just on bakery products.  Mekkafood then crossed the border to prepare meat and built an ultra-modern production site in the open countryside. It wasn’t so easy to prepare meat in Venlo because of nearby residential areas. But the two company operations are just a few kilometers away from each other, and Wouter van Eeuwijk travels back and forth every day. He was unable to find a suitable plot of land in Venlo in the beginning, since most of the free space had been allocated to project developers. But Van Eeuwijk wanted to create his own project with his own money, and not just rent a ready-made hall. And in Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen he found a 30,000 square meter plot of land in an industrial area right on the A 61 that was ideal for his purposes.

Today 150 employees work for Mekkafood, around 90 of them in Kaldenkirchen. 300 to 350 tons of meat are processed there during the week and supplied as 30 various deep-frozen products, from Adana Kebab to beef burgers to Turkish pizzas. Today it is no longer just the small stores that buy from Mekkafood; large supermarket chains like REWE, Edeka and Real are also customers. 1,000 stores are supplied daily, not just all across Germany via various regional depots, but also in the Netherlands and Belgium. But it’s not just Muslims that eat halal, around a third of his products are bought from non-Muslims, van Eeuwijk estimates. And he is very sure of his products. The product range offers everyday food products with meat at a price that you can afford to eat every day. You wouldn’t be able to get the same products from the butcher for the same money, he is sure. Eating habits are changing, and that has to be catered to. In Germany the Döner kebab has replaced the fried sausage as the most popular snack. Mekkafood also offers snacks for in the home. Van Eeuwijk is also proud of a new development of his own: the bakery “invented” bread rolls suitable for the microwave that don’t go hard or stodgy.


Mekkafood GmbH & Co. KG
Herrenpfad-Süd 46
41334 Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen

Tel. 02157 896100
Fax 02157 896102




As at: January 2013

X

Erfolg mit Halal-Tiefkühlkost

2013 feiert Mekkafood sein 20-jähriges Bestehen. Zum Geburtstag gibt es eine neue Kälte-Wärme-Station, die mit Biogas betrieben wird. Der Energiebedarf des Unternehmens ist durch das Frittieren und Schockgefrieren enorm groß. Um für die Zukunft gerüstet zu sein, werden außerdem am Standort in Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen zwei weitere Hallen angebaut. Der Gründer und heutige Inhaber von Mekkafood ist Wouter P. van Euwijk, ein Selfmademan aus Venlo. Der 68-Jährige ist seit 50 Jahren im Lebensmittelhandel – und voller Tatendrang: „Ich habe keine Lust aufzuhören“. Angefangen hat er mit 18 Jahren auf dem Wochenmarkt in Venlo, wo er lautstark und mit einem Zylinder auf dem Kopf Bananen unter die Leute brachte. Später betrieb er mit „Ludwig aus Venlo“ einen großen Supermarkt in der Stadt. Als er den dann verkaufte, hatte van Euwijk Geld – und noch mehr Zeit. So startete er sein größtes Projekt: Die Produktion von Fleisch- und Backwaren, die halal, also nach den Regeln des Koran hergestellt sind, diese frisch einzufrieren und tiefgekühlt in die Geschäfte auszuliefern. Das war völlig neu und einzigartig. Die Idee war dem Niederländer gekommen, weil immer mehr muslimische Kunden in seinem Supermarkt nachfragten, ob das Essen auch halal sei.

Halal – was heißt das? So wie die Juden Regeln für koscheres Essen aufgestellt haben, verlangt der Koran nach einem Essen, das halal ist. Halal heißt im Arabischen einfach „erlaubt“. Nicht erlaubt sind Schweinefleisch, Blut und Alkohol. Außerdem darf nur Fleisch von Tieren gegessen werden, die nicht bereits verendet sind. Wegen des Blutverbotes müssen die Tiere völlig ausbluten. Das traditionelle Schächten, also das Durchschneiden der Kehle der Tiere, ist in Deutschland grundsätzlich nicht erlaubt, die Tiere sollen vorher betäubt werden. Mekkafood bezieht das Fleisch ausschließlich bei Schlachthöfen vor Ort, die halal schlachten. An der Produktionsstätte in Kaldenkirchen hängen mehrere Urkunden von Prüfinstituten, die das für die verschiedenen Länder bestätigen. Das Hühnerfleisch kommt aus den Niederlanden und Belgien, das Rindfleisch aus Deutschland und das Lammfleisch aus Frankreich. Mekkafood legt Wert darauf, das Fleisch innerhalb von 24 Stunden nach der Schlachtung zu verarbeiten, und verwendet kein Fleisch, das drei, vier Tage alt ist. Da Mekkafood ausschließlich halal-Fleisch verarbeitet, kommt es auch nirgendwo mit Schweinefleisch in Berührung.

Als van Eeuwijk vor 20 Jahren mit Mekkafood anfing, klapperte er erstmal jede Menge der „Türkenläden“ und die kleinen Geschäfte der „Araber an der Ecke“ ab, die viele der aufgegebenen Tante-Emma-Läden übernommen hatten. Doch in diesen kleinen Märkten gab es vielfach noch keine Tiefkühltruhen. Also hat Mekkafood in diese Läden eine Tiefkühltruhe gestellt – und ein treuer Kunde war gewonnen. Insgesamt 9000 Tiefkühltruhen wurden so verteilt. Am Anfang gab es sprachliche Probleme. Türken verstehen kein Arabisch und umgekehrt. Mekkafood hat deshalb selbstverständlich Muttersprachler zu den Händlern geschickt, um sie so von den Produkten zu überzeugen.

Viele deutsche Tierschützer haben Probleme mit dem Schächten. Van Eeuwijk findet die andere moderne Methode, mit der den betäubten und aufgehängten Hühnern maschinell der Kopf abgetrennt wird, auch nicht „humaner“. Jedes Huhn mit der Hand zu schächten, dabei einen Dank an Allah auszusprechen, sei zwar altmodisch, aber vielleicht für das Tier sogar besser. Jede Woche kommen verschiedene Halal-Prüfer, die sich für ihre Kunden überzeugen wollen, dass die Produktion den Anforderungen entspricht. „Mekkafood ist ein Haus der offenen Tür, jeder kann sehen, wie wir hier produzieren.“

Begonnen hat Mekkafood in Venlo. Dort gibt es auch heute noch einen weiteren Betrieb, der allein auf Backwaren eingestellt ist. Für die Zubereitung von Fleisch ist Mekkafood dann über die Grenze gekommen und hat auf der grünen Wiese eine hochmoderne Produktionsstätte gebaut. In Venlo in der Nähe zu Wohnbebauung war das Zubereiten von Fleisch nicht so gut möglich. Beide Firmenbetriebe sind nur wenige Kilometer voneinander entfernt, und Wouter van Eeuwijk pendelt täglich hin und her. In Venlo hatte er damals kein geeignetes Grundstück gefunden, die meisten freien Flächen waren an Projektentwickler vergeben. Van Eeuwijk wollte aber mit eigenem Geld ein eigenes Projekt aufziehen, und nicht eine fertige Halle mieten. In Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen fand er direkt an der A 61 ein 30.000 Quadratmeter-Grundstück in einem Gewerbegebiet, das für seine Zwecke ideal war.

Für Mekkafood arbeiten heute 150 Angestellte, rund 90 davon in Kaldenkirchen. In der Woche werden dort 300 bis 350 Tonnen Fleisch verarbeitet und als 30 verschiedene Tiefkühlkostprodukte ausgeliefert, von Adana Kebab über Rindfleischburger bis zur türkischen Pizza. Nicht nur die kleinen Läden sind heute Kunden bei Mekkafood, sondern auch große Handelsketten wie REWE, Edeka und Real. Täglich werden 1000 Geschäfte beliefert, nicht nur bundesweit über verschiedene regionale Depots, sondern auch in den Niederlanden und Belgien. Aber nicht nur Muslime essen halal, rund ein Drittel seiner Produkte wird von Nicht-Muslimen gekauft, schätzt van Eeuwijk. Und er ist überzeugt von seinen Produkten. Die Angebotspalette biete alltägliche Kost mit Fleisch, die man sich vom Preis her jeden Tag leisten könne. Beim Metzger erhalte man diese Ware nicht fürs gleiche Geld, ist er sich sicher. Die Esskultur verändert sich, dem müsse man Rechnung tragen. In Deutschland habe der Döner bereits die Bratwurst als Imbiss in der Beliebtheit überholt. Mekkafood bietet Snacks auch für zu Hause. Stolz ist van Eeuwijk auf eine eigene  neue Entwicklung: In der Bäckerei wurden Brötchen „ertüftelt“, die für die Mikrowelle geeignet sind und danach nicht hart und pappig schmecken.

 

Mekkafood GmbH & Co. KG
Herrenpfad-Süd 46
41334 Nettetal-Kaldenkirchen

Tel. 02157 896100
Fax 02157 896102

info@mekkafood.com

www.mekkafood.com

 

Stand: Januar 2013