The success story that eSAB Bröckskes - Cable solutions for the worldmerged from the crisis

It’s all about having the right connections. Something that appears to be a commonplace truism fits lock, stock and barrel at SAB Bröckskes. The company from Viersen has been producing cables for over 60 years. If cables were the only things this family-run business were offering, it would long since have been driven off the market. But today it is still holding its own because it doesn’t just produce cables; it delivers solutions to problems too. These days, six new products are sent to the production plant every day. What’s more, these are not mass-produced goods but individual cables that bring together several applications in one flexible sheath. SAB offers its customers made-to-measure solutions: custom-made products that you only need 500 to 1,000 meters of, not umpteen kilometres. Discounters from Asia won’t even touch orders of less than 10 kilometres. Naturally, custom-made products mean a lot of manual labour.  But in Viersen-Süchteln, highly motivated staff with years of experience are standing by and they immediately know exactly what has to be done. Before a client has even explained what they want elsewhere, SAB has already delivered. The company has been a training company too since 1984. Its fully qualified cable production mechanics have been among the best in the country for years.

Managing Director Peter Bröckskes is proud of his staff. He says it is not easy to find companies with such a good working atmosphere everywhere in the world. Overall the company has 65 years of experience. The machinery park works like clockwork. Anyone thinking, “Well, a cable is just a cable,” isn’t aware of the challenges involved in making cables for modern machines. The cables made at SAB can be rotated by up to 720 degrees and can also withstand extreme conditions. In lifts, for example, where the cables are permanently moved and flexed, and yet the wires must not be allowed to snap off. One cable for a harbour crane in Rotterdam was weighed down with a strip of lead so that it remains stable even when there are strong winds. Cables are used for everything from smelting furnaces to deep-freeze plants. However, standard cable sheaths don’t work at all temperatures. A PVC cable cannot be used for de-icing equipment for planes, since the material cracks very quickly when there is frost. SAB supplies the right cables for this, as well as the balancing circuits for keeping the food cool on the luxury liner Queen Mary 2. When the Dutch recreation park Six Flags needed a 30-meter long new cable for a driving unit, SAB was able to assist quickly. And when Mercedes had a cable problem while developing the A-Class, SAB came to the rescue. The special cable they needed was made in three hours and delivered to the customer in just eight hours.  

At the site in Viersen they work round the clock using a four-shift system. They also manufacture regularly on Saturdays.  This enables great flexibility and speed. SAB has firmly established itself worldwide as a specialist for niche products in various sectors. Everything is made locally, and about 50 percent is exported to 40 other countries. Sales offices in France, the USA, Mexico, the Netherlands and China look after this side of the business. SAB is in the middle of preparing to hand down the business to the next generation. The daughter Sabine Bröckskes-Wetten, who so far has been the technical director in the company, has taken over 90 percent of the company’s shares. Her father Peter Bröckskes is now an employed managing director and is looking forward to improving his golf from the middle of next year.

This means SAB will remain a family business – now in the third generation – as it has always been. After the war, Peter Bröckskes senior, who was originally from Cologne, ‘got stuck’ in Süchteln. While out dancing he met a girl from there and moved to the Niederrhein. He then turned his big dream of becoming self-employed into reality in 1947. He became a sales representative for signalling equipment. He received his first order from Brüggen-Bracht. It was for an electrical facility for monitoring the temperature while firing roof tiles. But drawing up a plan for one piece of equipment and then throwing it away once it was built didn’t seem a very efficient way of working to Bröckskes. That’s when he had the idea of building the thermal elements himself. He bought the cables he required direct from a factory in Rheydt. But when he learned that it was going to take 24 months for them to be delivered, that was all he needed to decide to make them himself. Then they began making control wires for machines too, which were supplied to the entire German electrical industry via wholesale. 

Peter Bröckskes junior first worked at De Beukeler in Kempen for three years after gaining his degree in business studies in 1977. When his father, who had built up the business from scratch, turned 60 he asked him if he would like to join the family business. Father and son then worked together initially for SAB Bröckskes – until the father died suddenly and unexpectedly in 1989 at the age of 69. Together with his brother, Peter Bröckskes junior then took over the company completely. In 1991 the company reached a milestone in its history. Peter Bröcksjes made a far-sighted decision. The increasing concentration in the electrical industry was pushing down prices. The company had to find a way to resist this pressure. The solution was direct sales, in other words, offering problem solutions instead of just supplying standard cables. If this decision hadn’t been made, Peter Bröckskes now recalls, the company wouldn’t exist anymore, at least not in its current form. Hence, today, in a building complex in Grefrather Straße, where to begin with the Reich motorbike factory was housed, which was then used to pack brown bread into tins for the German armed forces, cable solutions for machines all round the world are manufactured on a daily basis.


SAB Bröckskes GmbH & Co. KG
Grefrather Straße 204-212 b
41749 Grefrath  

Tel.: 02162 - 898-0
Fax: 02161 - 898-101



At at: February 2014

X

SAB Bröckskes - Kabellösungen für die Welt

Auf die richtige Verbindung kommt es an. Was als Binsenweisheit erscheint, trifft bei SAB Bröckskes voll und ganz zu. Das Viersener Unternehmen stellt seit über 60 Jahren Kabel her. Damit allein wäre das Familienunternehmen längst vom Markt gefegt worden, aber es behauptet sich bis heute, weil es nicht bloß Kabel produziert, sondern Problemlösungen liefert. Heute gehen täglich sechs neue Produkte in die Fertigung. Dabei geht es nicht um Meterware von der Rolle, sondern um individuelle Kabel, die mehrere Anwendungen in einem flexiblen Mantel miteinander verbinden. Seinen Kunden bietet SAB jeweils maßgeschneiderte Lösungen. Es handelt sich immer um Sonderprodukte, von denen man nur 500 bis 1000 Meter braucht, aber nicht zig Kilometer. Billiganbieter aus Asien packen Aufträge unter 10 Kilometern erst gar nicht an. Natürlich bedeuten Sonderprodukte viel manuelle Arbeit. In Viersen-Süchteln stehen hochmotivierte und langjährige Mitarbeiter bereit, die sofort wissen, was zu tun ist. Bevor ein Auftraggeber sein Anliegen anderswo erklärt, hat SAB schon geliefert. Seit 1984 bildet der Betrieb selber aus. Die fertig ausgebildeten Kabelfertigungsmechaniker gehören seit Jahren regelmäßig zu den Bundessiegern.

Geschäftsführer Peter Bröckskes ist auf seine Leute stolz. So gute Leute wie in seinem Betrieb seien weltweit nicht so leicht zu finden. Insgesamt kann das Unternehmen auf 65 Jahre Erfahrung zurückblicken. Der Maschinenpark ist hervorragend eingespielt. Wer nun denkt: „Nun gut, Kabel sind doch irgendwie alle gleich“, kennt nicht die Herausforderungen, die in den modernen Maschinen an Kabel gestellt werden. Die bei SAB hergestellten Kabel lassen sich bis zu 720 Grad drehen und widerstehen auch sonstigen extremen Anforderungen. So werden bei Aufzügen die Leitungen permanent bewegt und gebogen, ohne dass die Drähte abknicken dürfen. Eine Leitung für die Hafenkräne in Rotterdam wurde mit einem Bleiband beschwert, damit es bei heftigem Wind stabil bleibt. Kabel kommen überall zum Einsatz, ob am Hochofen oder in Tiefkühlanlagen. Doch die herkömmlichen Kabelummantelungen funktionieren nicht bei jeder Temperatur. Bei den Enteisungsanlagen für Flugzeuge kommt ein PVC-Kabel nicht in Betracht, das Material bricht bei Frost sehr schnell. SAB liefert dafür die richtigen Kabel wie auch die Ausgleichsleitungen zur Lebensmittelkühlung für den Luxusliner Queen Mary 2. Auch als der niederländische Freizeitpark Six Flags für ein Fahrgerät ein 30 Meter langes neues Kabel brauchte, konnte SAB schnell weiterhelfen. Und als Mercedes in der Entwicklung der A-Klasse ein Kabel-Problem hatte, sprang SAB ein. Das gewünschte Spezialkabel war innerhalb von drei Stunden fertig produziert und bereits acht Stunden später beim Kunden.  

Am Standort Viersen wird im Vier-Schichten-Betrieb rund um die Uhr gearbeitet. Auch an Samstagen wird regelmäßig produziert.  Das ermöglicht eine hohe Flexibilität und enorme Schnelligkeit. Als Spezialist für Nischenprodukte in verschiedenen Branchen hat sich SAB weltweit am Markt fest etabliert. Alles wird vor Ort produziert, rund 50 Prozent davon wird in 40 Länder exportiert. Dafür sorgen Vertriebsbüros in Frankreich, den USA, Mexiko, den Niederlanden und China. Gerade bereitet sich SAB auf einen Generationenwechsel vor. Tochter Sabine Bröckskes-Wetten, bisher als technische Leiterin im Unternehmen tätig, hat 90 Prozent der Anteile des Unternehmens übernommen. Ihr Vater Peter Bröckskes ist jetzt angestellter Geschäftsführer und freut sich, ab Mitte des Jahres sein Handicap im Golf verbessern zu können.

Damit bleibt SAB in dritter Generation ein Familienunternehmen – was es von Anfang an war. Nach dem Krieg blieb der Kölner Peter Bröckskes sen. in Süchteln „hängen“. Beim Tanzen lernte er ein Mädchen von dort kennen und zog an den Niederrhein. Seinen großen Traum, sich selbständig zu machen, setzte er dort dann 1947 um. Er wurde Handelsvertreter für Signalanlagen. Der erste Auftrag kam aus Brüggen-Bracht. Dort ging es um eine elektrische Anlage, mit der die Temperatur beim Brennen von Dachziegeln überwacht werden sollte. Doch für eine einzige Anlage einen Plan zu entwerfen und ihn dann nach der Montage wegzuschmeißen, erschien Bröckskes zu wenig effektiv. Da kam ihm die Idee, die Thermo-Elemente selber zu bauen. Die benötigten Kabel kaufte er ab Fabrik in Rheydt. Doch als dort die Lieferzeit 24 Monate betrug, war das der Anstoß, auch die Leitungen selber zu machen. Produziert wurden dann auch Steuerleitungen für Maschinen, die über den Großhandel an die gesamte deutsche Elektroindustrie geliefert wurden. 

Peter Bröckskes jun. arbeitete nach Abschluss seines BWL-Studiums 1977 zunächst dreieinhalb Jahre bei De Beukeler in Kempen. Als sein Vater, der den Betrieb von null aufgebaut hatte, 60 wurde, fragte er ihn, ob er in die Familienfirma einsteigen wolle. Vater und Sohn arbeiteten zunächst  zusammen für SAB Bröckskes – bis der Vater 1989 plötzlich und überraschend im Alter von 69 Jahren starb. Zusammen mit seinem Bruder übernahm Peter Bröckskes jun. die Firma ganz. 1991 markiert in der Firmengeschichte einen besonderen Einschnitt. Peter Bröcksjes traf eine weitreichende Entscheidung. Die zunehmende Konzentration im Elektrogeschäft ließ die Preise stetig sinken. Da stellte sich die Frage: Wie kann man dagegen halten? Die Lösung war der Direktvertrieb, um Problemlösungen anbieten zu können, anstatt nur Standardkabel zu liefern. Ohne diese Entscheidung, so sagt Peter Bröckskes heute, gäbe es das Unternehmen in Viersen-Süchteln nicht mehr, zumindest nicht in dieser Form. Und so werden im Gebäudekomplex an der Grefrather Straße, in dem zuerst die Reichsmotorradfabrik residierte und später Schwarzbrot für die Bundeswehr in Konservendosen verpackt wurde, heute immer noch Kabel-Problemlösungen für Maschinen in aller Welt produziert.

 

SAB Bröckskes GmbH & Co. KG
Grefrather Straße 204-212 b
41749 Grefrath  

Tel.: 02162 - 898-0
Fax: 02161 - 898-101

info@sab-broeckskes.de

www.sab-worldwide.com

Stand: Februar 2014