The most modern trains in the world come from Krefeld

State-of-the-art trains from Krefeld don’t just run in Germany, but also in Russia, Spain, the UK, Belgium and many other countries in Europe and the rest of the world. The fascinating story of multiple unit train production in Krefeld goes back as far 1898; today Siemens has expanded the location to the most modern railway production site in Europe. The site in Krefeld has a long history dating back to the Imperial Era. Railway carriages were built there over many decades for the Royal Prussian Railways and, after the war, the railbus that was so popular in the 1950’s. But it wasn’t until Siemens took the site over in 2001 that it took a leap into the future. Today the site is Europe’s leading high-tech production site for high-speed trains. The ICx, described by Siemens as “the most modern and environmentally friendly train in the world“, will come from Krefeld in future. This is the biggest order to date in the history of Siemens, which stretches back over 160 years: up to 300 new long-distance ICx trains will be built for Deutsche Bahn. It is scheduled to be on the tracks from 2016 as part of the DB network and then form the backbone of DB‘s long-distance transport.

What this shows is that the future is already here. In the Krefeld factory halls regional and high-speed trains are being built for Russia, the UK, Belgium and for the Eurostar line through the channel tunnel. More than 450 railcar bodies, or 100 trains in total, are produced every year in the factory. The capacity is 650 railcar bodies, as factory manager Ulrich Semsek explains. Trains by Siemens Krefeld became the flagship trains of the Russian railways. The Siemens Velaro RUS high-speed trains travel between Moscow and Saint Petersburg as “Sapsan”, meaning “Peregrine Falcon”. The trains shorten the travel time by an hour and brave the extreme weather conditions from minus to plus 40 degrees Celsius. The multiple unit trains are 250 meters long each and can take 600 passengers.

Production of the ten Velaro Eurostar trains has been running since July 2011. The 16-carriage vehicles are 400 meters long. They will initially be deployed on the Paris-London route, and later Amsterdam-Brussels-London. Overall Siemens has sold more than 300 Velaro multiple unit trains worldwide, including the new ICE 3 for Deutsche Bahn. They all come from Krefeld. At the moment 54 Desiro RUS regional multiple unit trains are being built in the factory halls there for the Russian railways. They are already in use in regional transport in and around St. Petersburg and will also be deployed at the 2014 Olympic Games in Sotschi on the Black Sea coast. Several trains have already been delivered to the customer. They are brought via heavy-load transporters to the Rhine port in Krefeld, where they are taken by ship via Rotterdam to Rügen and from there with a normal railway ferry to St. Petersburg. Because the Russian railways have a wider track gauge for their trains than is customary in central Europe, the trains cannot be put on the tracks in Krefeld. The approval for the running of the trains on the Russian rail network was acquired three months earlier than planned, which means they have been on the regular transport schedule of the Russian railways since the middle of January.

Around 600 railcar bodies are to be produced a year in Krefeld as soon as 2014. That includes – subject to the forthcoming contract signing – 1,200 Desiro City railcars for the Thameslink line, a 225-km-long railway line from Bedford through London to Brighton. In order to keep up with the orders, Siemens is investing tens of millions in Krefeld. New buildings have been built, the existing production halls converted and new machines procured. Additional office buildings and a new logistics centre for receiving material supplies in one place are planned . About 2,400 people work in the factory halls. Siemens has made the most of the attractive location between the cities on the Rhine and the Ruhr region and expanded the Krefeld site to one of the most important competence centres of the railway industry. Training young people is very important to Siemens, and 200 apprentices and internees are trained in Krefeld. The group awards scholarships to the RWTH Aachen University and the University of Duisburg-Essen. Together with the RWTH, Siemens is working on a new railcar body technology and on improving climate technology. It also has a cooperation agreement with the Lower Rhine University of Applied Sciences in Krefeld to train students on the dual bachelor degree programme in mechanical engineering.


Siemens AG
Duisburger Str. 145
47829 Krefeld
Tel.: +49 2151 / 450 – 0
Fax: +49 2151 / 450 - 1214



As at: February 2013

X

Die modernsten Züge der Welt kommen aus Krefeld

Modernste Züge aus Krefeld fahren nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in Russland, Spanien, England, Belgien und vielen anderen Ländern Europas und der Welt. Die Triebzugproduktion in Krefeld ist schon seit 1898 eine spannende Geschichte, heute hat Siemens den Standort zur modernsten Eisenbahn-Schmiede Europas ausgebaut. Der Standort in Krefeld hat seit der Kaiserzeit eine lange Tradition. Dort wurden für die Königliche-Preußische Eisenbahn über viele Jahrzehnte Eisenbahnwaggons gebaut und nach dem Krieg der in den 1950er Jahren beliebte Schienenbus. Aber erst mit der Übernahme 2001 durch Siemens schaffte das Werk den Sprung in die Zukunft. Heute ist der Standort Europas führende Hightech-Schmiede für Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge. Der ICx, von Siemens als der „modernste und umweltfreundlichste Zug der Welt beschrieben“, wird in Zukunft aus Krefeld kommen. Es handelt sich dabei um den bisher größten Auftrag in der 165-jährigen Unternehmensgeschichte von Siemens.

Das zeigt: Die Zukunft hat schon längst angefangen. In den Krefelder Werkshallen entstehen Regional- und Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge für Russland, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Belgien und für die Eurostar-Linie durch den Ärmelkanal-Tunnel. Mehr als 450 Wagenkästen werden im Werk jährlich produziert oder insgesamt 100 Züge. Die Kapazität liegt bei 650 Wagenkästen, wie Werksleiter Ulrich Semsek erklärt. Züge von Siemens Krefeld wurden zum Aushängeschild der Russischen Eisenbahnen. Zwischen Moskau und Sankt Petersburg verkehren die Siemens-Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge vom Typ Velaro RUS als „Sapsan“, zu Deutsch „Wanderfalke“. Die Züge verkürzen die Reisezeit um eine Stunde und trotzen den extremen Witterungsbedingungen von minus bis plus 40 Grad Celsius. Die Triebzüge sind jeweils 250 Meter lang und bieten Platz für 600 Fahrgäste.

Seit Juli 2011 läuft die Produktion der zehn Velaro Eurostar-Züge. 400 Meter sind die 16-teiligen Fahrzeuge lang. Sie werden zunächst auf der Strecke Paris-London und später auch zwischen Amsterdam-Brüssel-London unterwegs sein. Insgesamt hat Siemens weltweit mehr als 300 Velaro-Triebzüge verkauft, zu denen auch der neue ICE 3 der Deutschen Bahn gehört. Alle kommen aus Krefeld. Zurzeit werden in den Werkshallen 54 Regionaltriebzüge Desiro RUS für die Russischen Eisenbahnen gebaut. Sie fahren bereits in und um St. Petersburg im Regionalverkehr und kommen ab 2014 auch in Sotschi am Schwarzen Meer zum Einsatz. Mehrere Züge sind bereits an den Kunden ausgeliefert. Mit Schwerlasttransportern werden sie zum Krefelder Rheinhafen gefahren, wo sie per Schiff über Rotterdam nach Rügen gebracht und von dort mit einer normalen Eisenbahnfähre nach St. Petersburg gebracht werden. Weil die Russische Eisenbahn für ihre Züge eine breitere Spurweite hat, als in Mitteleuropa üblich ist, können die Züge nicht in Krefeld auf die Schiene gesetzt werden. Die Zulassung für den Betrieb der Züge im russischen Eisenbahnnetz konnte drei Monate früher als geplant erreicht werden, so dass sie bereits seit Mitte Januar im regulären Fahrplanverkehr der Russischen Eisenbahn unterwegs sind.

Bereits ab 2014 sollen in Krefeld schon rund 600 Wagenkästen im Jahr produziert werden. Darunter – vorbehaltlich der anstehenden Vertragsunterzeichnung – 1200 Wagen vom Typ Desiro City für die Thameslink-Linie, eine 225 Kilometer lange Eisenbahnstrecke von Bedford durch London nach Brighton. Um die Aufträge bewältigen zu können, investiert Siemens in Krefeld einen zweistelligen Millionenbetrag. In Krefeld sind neue Gebäude entstanden, die bestehenden Produktionshallen wurden umgebaut sowie neue Maschinen angeschafft. Geplant sind zusätzliche Bürogebäude und ein neues Logistikzentrum für gebündelte Materialanlieferung. Rund 2400 Menschen arbeiten in den Werkshallen. Siemens hat sich die attraktive Lage zwischen den rheinischen Großstädten und dem Ruhrgebiet zunutze gemacht und den Standort Krefeld zu einem der wichtigsten Kompetenzzentren der Eisenbahnindustrie ausgebaut. Sehr wichtig ist für Siemens die Ausbildung junger Menschen. In Krefeld werden 200 Azubis und Praktikanten ausgebildet. So vergibt der Konzern Stipendien an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule Aachen (RWTH) sowie an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Gemeinsam mit der RWTH arbeitet Siemens an einer neuen Wagenkastentechnologie sowie an der Verbesserung der Klimatechnik. Mit der Hochschule Niederrhein in Krefeld besteht eine Kooperation zur Ausbildung der Dualen Bachelorstudierenden im Fachgebiet Maschinenbau.

 

Siemens AG
Duisburger Str. 145
47829 Krefeld
Tel.: +49 2151 / 450 – 0
Fax: +49 2151 / 450 - 1214

www.siemens.com

 

Stand: Februar 2013