SUCOs DO BRASIL – A little Latin America goes a long way in Neuss

Bright red lips round a yellow straw – that’s the trendy company logo of SUCOs DO BRASIL. Initially the sign for a Brazilian bar in the Wilhelm-Marx-Haus in Düsseldorf, today it stands for direct imports and wholesale in Brazilian and Latin American drinks and foods. Sucos do Brasil is now one of the main German importers of luxury items and foods from South America – both for bulk buyers such as the department store chain Galeria Kaufhof, or restaurant and catering businesses. In December 2011, the warehouse and sales facilities moved from Düsseldorf to Neuss, where the company found a property on the city border that offers a spacious 1,700 m2 warehouse area, 250 m2 of office space as well as ramps and plenty of space for incoming supplies and outgoing deliveries. When caipirinhas burst onto the scene in 1996/97, attention in Germany turned to Brazil and the lifestyle under Sugar Loaf Mountain. At that time the fine white Brazilian cane sugar was not available in this country, and that’s why barkeepers in Germany started using brown sugar instead, even though Brazilian white cane sugar, which is much finer than the normal German sugar, dissolves better and is ideal for enhancing taste. There is still a lot of work to be done in Germany re-educating people on this point because many still believe that a caipirinha contains brown cane sugar.

At the helm of Sucos do Brasil in Neuss is Christian Wurm. The 35-year-old has a Brazilian mother and grew up with the food, the language, the culture and the lifestyle of Brazil. Because there wasn’t much from Brazil to be found in his home city, Frankfurt, at a young age he began ordering goods from Brazil and selling them. This is how he met Wolfgang Genée, who founded the restaurant and bar Sucos do Brasil in 1984 in Düsseldorf and expanded it with a party service. But in order to cook or serve the national dish feijoada, you need black beans, which have to be imported first. So the two men joined forces: during the day Wurm worked as a product manager at Sucos, and in the evenings he studied business administration. When Genée retired in 2005, Christian Wurm took over the company completely and expanded it. Turnover increased tenfold from 2005 to 2012, and the warehouse in Flingern was bursting at the seams. A member of staff found the vacant property in Neuss, which ended the long search all round Düsseldorf – from Kaarst to Hilden – for a suitable large hall. The connection to the nearby A 52 is ideal, for most containers arrive in Rotterdam. The articulated lorries no longer have to fight their way through the city center of Düsseldorf. Turnover has continued increasing by 10 to 15 percent a year in the two years since Sucos do Brasil has resided in Neuss. Wurm is now counting on a wave of Brazil fever from the 2014 football World Cup and the Olympic Games in 2016. Wurm sees huge potential for Guaraná Antarctica, a typical Brazilian lemonade containing caffeine and guarana extract. The manufacturer of the drink is a sponsor of the Brazilian national team. This product also fits in with the trend in Germany for lifestyle lemonades. The Neuss company has now closed a cooperation agreement with wholesalers Lekkerland, which will sell Guaraná Antarctica during the World Cup via kiosks and garages.

These sporting events are throwing Brazil into the limelight. But Sucos do Brasil imports goods from all over Latin America. The beer Presidente from the Dominican Republic, for example, is selling like hot cakes. Many Germans know it from their holidays in the Dominican Republic and can take a taste of that Caribbean holiday feeling home with them. But other exotic beers like Cristal, the “Cerveza de los Andes” from Peru, and Cubanero Fuerte from Cuba are also on offer. Other products that are even more central to the Sucos range than beer are rum and cachaca. The Brazilian drink cachaca is distilled from freshly harvested sugarcane juice, while rum is made from sugarcane molasses – sugary syrup which is created as a secondary product when making sugar. No less than 100 of the 600 articles in the product range are various rum products from all over Latin America. That probably means Sucos do Brasil is one of the biggest rum importers in Germany in terms of product range. It supplies customers all over Europe, from Ireland to Greece.

Comparatively speaking, Brazilian wine accounts for a small segment. Although Brazil has wine-growing areas with similarly favorable conditions as in Argentina and Chile, Brazilian wines are almost unknown in Germany. While Brazil wasn’t a wine country at all in the 1990’s, demand there is now exploding. Since a new middle class started developing in this emerging nation, wine consumption has been increasing according to the same patterns in Europe. When the former Brazilian president Lula da Silva poured a red wine for Nicolas Sarkozy at an official state reception in 2008, the Frenchman praised the excellent Bordeaux – which was actually a Brazilian wine. At least, that’s how the story goes in Brazil. Wurm sells wines from the winery MIOLO, which was founded by Italian immigrants in 1900. French oenologists have now given the wine the final polish.

Christian Wurm tries to travel to Brazil at least once a year. Once there, he goes on a quest for new trends and products. If he can he goes to the supermarkets first to observe what the people are buying. But he also has a good network that quickly passes on information on new discoveries in the country, and trade fairs also showcase new items. Sucos is first and foremost a wholesaler, but it also sells its products to individuals online (www.brasil-latino.de).

As at: August 2013



SUCOs DO BRASIL-Productos Latino GmbH
Graf Landsberg Straße 9
41460 Neuss
Tel. 02131 40656-0
Fax 02131 40656-7

X

SUCOs DO BRASIL – Klein-Lateinamerika ganz groß in Neuss

Knallig rote Lippen mit einem gelben Strohhalm – das ist das poppige Firmenlogo von SUCOs DO BRASIL. Was anfangs für eine brasilianische Bar am Wilhelm-Marx-Haus in Düsseldorf warb, steht heute für den Direktimport und Großhandel mit brasilianischen und lateinamerikanischen Getränken und Lebensmitteln. Sucos do Brasil zählt heute zu den ersten Adressen unter den deutschen Importeuren von Genuss- und Lebensmitteln aus Südamerika – ob für Großabnehmer wie Galeria Kaufhof oder die Gastronomie. Lager und Vertrieb zogen im Dezember 2011 von Düsseldorf nach Neuss, wo das Unternehmen an der Stadtgrenze zum Handweiser eine Immobilie gefunden hat, die üppige 1700 qm Lagerfläche und 250 qm Büros bietet plus Rampen mit viel Platz für An- und Auslieferung. Mit der Caipirinha-Welle  1996/97 rückten Brasilien und das Lebensgefühl unter dem Zuckerhut in  Deutschland in den Fokus. Weil damals der weiße, feine brasilianische Rohrzucker hierzulande nicht zu bekommen war, griffen die Barkeeper der Bundesrepublik ersatzweise zu braunem Rohrzucker. Dabei löst sich der weiße brasilianische Rohrzucker, der viel feiner ist als der normale deutsche Zucker, besser auf und wird zum idealen Geschmacksträger. Trotzdem muss man in Deutschland viel Aufklärungsarbeit leisten, weil viele immer noch glauben, zum Caipirinha gehöre nun mal brauner Rohrzucker.

Chef von Sucos do Brasil in Neuss ist Christian Wurm. Der 35-Jährige hat eine brasilianische Mutter und ist mit dem Essen, der Sprache, Kultur und dem Lebensgefühl Brasiliens groß geworden. Weil es in seiner Heimat Frankfurt nicht viel Brasilianisches gab, begann Wurm sehr früh, Waren in Brasilien zu bestellen und zu vertreiben. So lernte er auch Wolfgang Genée kennen, der 1984 in Düsseldorf das Lokal Sucos do Brasil gegründet und um einen Partyservice erweitert hatte. Wer das Nationalgericht Feijoada kochen oder anbieten will, braucht dazu aber schwarze Bohnen, die man erst importieren muss. Der Düsseldorfer und der Frankfurter taten sich zusammen, tagsüber arbeitete Wurm bei Sucos als Produktmanager, abends studierte er  Betriebswirtschaft. Als Genée in Rente ging, übernahm Christian Wurm 2005 die Firma ganz und baute sie aus. Von 2005 bis 2012 verzehnfachte sich der Umsatz, und das Lager in Flingern platzte aus allen Nähten. Ein Mitarbeiter, der am Handweiser wohnt, fand die leerstehende Immobilie in Neuss, die die lange Suche nach einer geeigneten großen Halle rund um Düsseldorf – von Kaarst bis Hilden - beendete. Die Anbindung über die nahegelegene A 52 ist optimal, die  meisten Container kommen in Rotterdam an. Die Sattelschlepper müssen sich jetzt nicht mehr durch die Innenstadt von Düsseldorf quälen. Auch in den zwei Jahren, in denen Sucos do Brasil in Neuss residiert, wächst der Umsatz weiter um 10, 15 Prozent pro Jahr. Jetzt setzt Wurm auf das Brasilien-Fieber durch die Fußball-WM 2014 und die Olympischen Spiele 2016. Große Chancen sieht Wurm für Guaraná Antarctica, eine typisch brasilianische koffeinhaltige Limonade mit Guarana-Extrakt. Der Hersteller ist  Sponsor der brasilianischen Nationalmannschaft. Auch in Deutschland passt dieses Produkt in den Trend der Zeitgeist-Limonaden. Das Neusser Unternehmen hat jetzt eine Kooperation mit dem Großhändler Lekkerland abgeschlossen, der Guarana zur Fußball-WM über Kioske und Tankstellen in ganz Deutschland vertreiben wird.

Die Sport-Großereignisse pushen Brasilien nach vorne. Sucos do Brasil importiert aber Waren aus ganz Lateinamerika. Und so ist das Bier Presidente aus der Dominikanischen Republik ein absoluter Renner. Viele Deutsche kennen es aus ihrem Urlaub auf Dom Rep und holen sich mit dem Bier ein wenig karibisches Urlaubsfeeling nach Hause. Aber auch Exoten wie Cristal, das „Cerveza de los Andes“ aus Peru, und Cubanero Fuerte aus Kuba finden sich im Angebot. Ein noch wichtigerer  Schwerpunkt als Bier ist bei Sucos das Angebot an Rum und Cachaca. Der brasilianische Cachaca wird aus frisch geerntetem Zuckerrohrsaft destilliert, während Rum aus der Zuckerrohrmelasse – ein Zuckersirup, der als Nebenprodukt der Zuckerherstellung entsteht - gewonnen wird.  Von den 600 Artikeln im Sortiment fallen allein 100 auf verschiedene Rum-Angebote aus ganz Lateinamerika. Sucos do Brasil dürfte damit von der Vielfalt einer der größten Rum-Importeure Deutschlands sein. Beliefert werden Kunden in ganz Europa, von Irland bis Griechenland.

Ein vergleichsweise noch kleines Segment macht der brasilianische Wein aus. Obwohl Brasilien im Süden über ähnlich günstig gelegene Weinbauflächen wie Argentinien und Chile verfügt, sind brasilianische Weine bei uns noch nahezu unbekannt. War Brasilien in den 1990er Jahren überhaupt noch kein Weinland, so explodiert dort mittlerweile die Nachfrage. Seitdem sich im Schwellenland Brasilien eine neue Mittelschicht entwickelt, steigt nach dem Vorbild der Europäer der Weinkonsum im Inland. Als der frühere brasilianische Präsident Lula da Silva 2008 bei einem Staatsempfang für Nicolas Sarkozy einen Rotwein ausschenkt, lobt der Franzose den hervorragenden Bordeaux – der aber ein brasilianischer Wein war. Zumindest erzählt man sich die Geschichte so in Brasilien. Wurm vertreibt Weine des Gutes MIOLO, das italienische Einwanderer 1900 gegründet haben. Französische Önologen haben dem Wein heute den letzten Schliff gegeben.

Christian Wurm versucht, wenigstens einmal im Jahr nach Brasilien zu reisen. Dort ist er dann auf der Suche nach neuen Trends und Produkten. Am liebsten geht er zuerst in die Supermärkte, um zu beobachten, was die Leute einkaufen. Aber er verfügt über ein gutes Netzwerk, das Entdeckungen im Lande schnell weiter vermittelt, und Messen bieten ebenso einige Neuheiten. Sucos ist in erster Linie ein Großhandel, verkauft aber die Produkte auch online an Privatkunden (www.brasil-latino.de).

 

SUCOs DO BRASIL-Productos Latino GmbH
Graf Landsberg Straße 9
41460 Neuss
Tel. 02131 40656-0
Fax 02131 40656-7

info@sucos.com

www.sucos.com

 

Stand August 2013