The production of textiles and clothing, at one time the cornerstone ofregional industry, has undergone massive transformation in the Niederrhein region: it has moved away from interchangeable mass production to special knowledge and technology-based products. It is only thanks to this transformation that the companies here, with their over 4,000 employees, can still fly the flag of the textiles and clothing industry today with confidence.

Take Verseidag Indutex, for example: This traditional company develops and manufactures special technical textiles for bullet-proof vests but also for architecture – whether it’s for a textile facade or a textile roof for the World Cup football stadiums in Cape Town and Johannesburg.

Dimension-Polyant has found an even more specialist niche. The company produces patent-protected high-performance sailcloths in its own weaving mill and finishing facility. Hence, the sailcloths made of the high-tech material from Niederrhein region can be found again and again at the major sailing events like America’s Cup, Vendeé Globe, Sydney Hobart and at the summer Olympic Games.

Aunde went a different way. The company transformed itself from a simple cloth manufacturer to a top international supplier of the automobile industry by supplying the entire seating system and not just the materials for the vehicle covers. Aunde now has 86 plants in 25 countries, in all the places where the final vehicle assembly is carried out.

The sewing of clothing has not taken place in the Niederrhein region for a long time. Yet the fashion industry here continues to be active with well-known companies. Take van Laack, for example: the premium label for men’s shirts and women’s blouses runs its design, production and sales from the Niederrhein region. Fashion fromVan Laack can be found on retailers’ shelves on all five continents.

Other internationally active fashion companies are based in the Niederrhein region too, for example the trousers manufacturers Alberto and Gardeur, the tie brand Alpi, or Mexx, with its headquarters for German-speaking countries.

Strong links to retail are also cultivated in the Niederrhein region. In the specialist retailer centers Imotex and Euromoda in Neuss, in direct proximity to the fashion city Düsseldorf, for decades retailers have been able to view collections of well beyond 500 fashion, shoe and accessory brands in elegant showrooms.

The textiles and clothing industry can rely on extremely well-trained skilled staff. Second and third generation employees are often active in the industry. Industry-wide training in this sector stretches right back to the 19th century. Today the educational duties are mainly in the hands of the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences with its textiles, and clothing technology faculties, wich are leading faculties in Europe and attended by students from all round the world, as well as the design faculty.

The textiles sector in the Niederrhein region can look to the future of technical textiles with confidence. In fields such as medicine technology, automobile construction and architecture, a new era in the intelligent use of textile materials is just beginning.

X

Textil

Die Herstellung von Textilien und Bekleidung, das einst prägende Segment der heimischen Industrie, hat sich am Standort Niederrhein massiv gewandelt: weg von einer austauschbarenMassenproduktion, hin zu wissens- und technologiebasierten Spezialprodukten. Nur deshalb können Unternehmen hier mit über 4.000 Beschäftigten auch heute noch selbstbewusst die Fahne der Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie hochhalten.

Beispiel Verseidag Indutex: Das Traditionsunternehmen entwickelt und produziert technische Spezialtextilien für schusssichere Westen ebenso wie für Architektur – sei es als textile Fassade oder als textiles Dach wiefür die Fußball-WM-Stadien in Kapstadt und Johannesburg.

Noch spitzer hat sich Dimension-Polyant spezialisiert. Das Unternehmen stellt in der eigenen Weberei und Veredlung technologisch hochentwickelte, durch eigene Patente geschützte Segeltücher her. Bei den Großereignissen des Segelsports wie America’s Cup, Vendeé Globe, Sydney Hobart und bei den Olympischen Sommerspielen finden sich daher stets auch Segelgarderoben aus dem Hightech-Material vom Niederrhein.

Aunde ist einen anderen Weg gegangen. Das Unternehmen wandelte sich vom reinen Tuchhersteller zum internationalen Top-Lieferanten der Automobilindustrie, indem es nicht nur die Stoffe für Fahrzeugsitze webt, sondern gleich das komplette Sitzsystem liefert. Die mittlerweile 86 Aunde-Werke in 25 Ländern sind überall dort angesiedelt, wo Fahrzeuge endmontiert werden.

Bekleidung wird am Standort Niederrhein zwar schon seit langem nicht mehr genäht, dennoch ist die Fashion-Branche hier weiterhin mit namhaften Unternehmen aktiv. Beispiel van Laack: Das Premium-Label für Herrenhemden und Damenblusen steuertvom Niederrhein aus Design, Produktion und Vertrieb. Mode von Van Laack liegt auf allen fünf Kontinenten in den Einzelhandelsregalen.

Weitere international agierende Mode-Unternehmen haben am Standort Niederrhein ihre Basis, so die Hosenhersteller Alberto und Gardeur und die Krawattenmarke alpi.

Auch die Schnittstelle zum Handel wird am Standort Niederrhein bedient. In den Neusser Fachhandelszentren Imotex und Euromoda, in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zur Modestadt Düsseldorf, können sich Einzelhändler seit Jahrzehnten in stilvoll eingerichteten Showrooms die Kollektionen von weit mehr als 500 Marken aus Bereichen wie Mode, Schuh und Accessoires vorführen lassen.

Die Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie kann am Standort Niederrhein auf bestens ausgebildete Fachkräfte vertrauen. Oft sind Mitarbeiter bereits in der zweiten oder dritten Generation in der Branche tätig. Die überbetriebliche Ausbildung hat dabei eine bis tief ins 19. Jahrhundert zurückreichende Tradition. Heute erfüllt vor allem die Hochschule Niederrhein mit ihrem in Europa führenden, von Studenten aus aller Welt besuchten Fachbereichen Textil- und Bekleidungstechnik sowie dem Fachbereich Design die Ausbildungsaufgabe.

Mit Blick auf die technischen Textilien sieht die Branche am Standort Niederrhein zuversichtlich in die Zukunft. Denn in Bereichen wie Medizintechnik, Automobilbau und Architektur beginnt gerade erst eine neue Ära für den intelligenten Einsatz von textilen Stoffen.