Fresh air from the Lower Rhine, all over the world

If you search the Internet for information about TROX, you find a lot of technical data. The brand "TROX Technik" and the company slogan "The art of handling air" tell you much of what you need to know. The company, based in the Lower Rhine region, is a leader in the development, production and sale of components and systems for ventilation and air-conditioning technology. In 2010, German publication Manager Magazin counted TROX among Germany's global market leaders. In 303rd place out of 1,000 German global market leaders, TROX is extremely well positioned in the area of technical equipment for buildings.

TROX products are used all over the world. The company's references read like a Who's Who of the world's most impressive buildings from the Bird's Nest Stadium in Beijing and the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur to the Burj Al Arab in Dubai or Sydney Opera House. The Frauenkirche in Dresden, Berlin's Central Station, the new Berlin-Brandenburg Airport and the Hamburg Philharmonic count among the company's German projects. TROX products can be found everywhere where optimum ventilation and climate control technology are needed.

Research and development set the pace for the whole company. This is where global knowledge and information about climatic requirements and customer demands come in. About half of the company's R&D tasks are about developing new products; the other half is concerned with model tests that can be used to develop system solutions for specific customer projects. One current example is a hospital in Spain. For this project, a 1:1 model room was used for carrying out measurements and determining how to optimise the airflow in the room in order to improve patients' well-being and recovery. Because ventilation technology also affects acoustics, two very well-equipped echo chambers are available for use. These each weigh 200 tonnes and are balanced on springs in order to eliminate vibrations caused by traffic. The International Center for Fire Protection, which opened in October 2009, is another example of how important research and development are. The core of the centre is a giant fire-testing furnace for testing various wall versions and installation positions of fire protection and smoke removal flaps.

Heinz Trox, the son of the company founder, believes in "thinking ahead" or, as French novelist Victor Hugo put it, in seeing the future "as a chance for the brave". Even founding the company in 1951 was a brave pioneering act. "Constructing ventilation grids in 1951 was an audacious idea on the part of my father," stresses Heinz Trox. "Back then, people wanted flats, cars, fridges and fancy clothes. Air quality was not an issue at the time. On the contrary: smoking chimneys were a symbol of industry and growth."

Company founder Heinrich Trox was already in senior positions in heavy industry at the age of 30. Until the end of the war, he was on the board of Junkers aircraft construction in Dessau. After the Second World War and the ban on German production of aircraft that went with it, Heinrich Trox moved on to the young ventilation and climate control sector. Knowledge of the laws of aerodynamics and metalworking was of enormous benefit. During his time as the managing director of a German manufacturer of air-conditioning units – and, at that time, all components for ventilation and air-conditioning units were produced by the unit manufacturers themselves – he realised the market potential in specialised manufacturing of these components, such as ventilation grids. Together with his brother Friedrich and seven employees, he founded the company Gebrüder TROX GmbH in a 110m² hall on the grounds of his house in the Neukirchen district of Vluyn. The choice of location was determined largely by the father's vision of where his sons, Klaus and Heinz, were to be educated. The local school, Julius-Stursberg-Gymnasium, was one of the first to resume normal lessons after the end of the war in 1945.

Securing both the success of the company and its future in the same tradition started by his father is the primary concern of Heinz Trox, principal shareholder and member of the supervisory board. He joined the company in 1959 after studying machine construction and business and after spending many years abroad. Largely thanks to his experiences abroad, the company began to expand internationally in the 1960's, opening subsidiaries in the United Kingdom, Austria, Italy and France. The company's global development was pursued systematically. For example, South Africa and South America (Brazil) followed in the 1970's, Hong Kong and the USA in the 1980's, Malaysia in 1994, Australia in 2000, China in 2001, Dubai in 2006 and India and Mexico in 2010.

The company headquarters in Neukirchen-Vluyn controls operations on five continents. TROX today has 25 subsidiaries and 13 production locations in eleven countries. In 2010, the company, which employees 3,200 staff, made a global turnover of over 350 million euros. In the current year this figure is set to increase to 390 million euros. There are more innovations in the pipeline for 2011, such as the development and marketing of central air-conditioning devices. To this end, the production area of the Anholt plant is currently being increased by 15,000 m². These devices will in future allow customers to obtain everything from a single source. The company has committed itself to the Lower Rhine region with its 20-million-euro investment here. Worldwide investments total 50 million euros. The owner has formed a foundation that will lead the company into the future. Together with Udo Brinkmann and Professor and engineer Dirk Müller, Lutz Reuter, as Chairman of the management board, is today at the helm of the business operations.

This means that Neukirchen-Vluyn will remain the globally important location for innovative ventilation and air-conditioning technology that it has long been. 150 engineers work there on solving tomorrow's problems.




47504 Neukirchen-Vluyn

Tel: +49 (0)2845/202-0

Fax: +49 (0)2845/202-265

X

Weltweit frische Luft vom Niederrhein

Wer sich im Internet über TROX informieren will, trifft auf viele technische Informationen. Die Marke "TROX Technik" und der Firmenslogan "The art of handling air" sind Programm. Das Unternehmen am Niederrhein ist führend in der Entwicklung, der Produktion und dem Vertrieb von Komponenten und Systemen für die Lüftungs- und Klimatechnik. In 2010 qualifizierte das "Manager Magazin" TROX als deutschen Weltmarktführer. Mit Platz 303 von 1.000 deutschen Weltmarktführern hat TROX im Bereich der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung eine herausragende Position.

Produkte von TROX werden überall in der Welt eingesetzt - die Referenzen des Unternehmens lesen sich wie das "Who is who" imposanter Bauwerke, wie zum Beispiel das Nationalstadion "Vogelnest" in Peking ebenso wie die Petronas Towers in Kuala-Lumpur, das Burj Al Arab in Dubai oder die Oper von Sydney. In Deutschland sind die Frauenkirche Dresden ebenso zu nennen wie der neue Hauptbahnhof in Berlin oder aktuell der Flughafen Berlin-Brandenburg und die Philharmonie Hamburg. TROX-Produkte sind also überall im Einsatz, wo es um optimale Lüftungs- und Klimatechnik geht.

Schrittmacher des Unternehmens ist die Forschung und Entwicklung. Hier fließen das weltweite Wissen und die Informationen über die klimatischen Anforderungen und die Kundenanforderungen ein. Etwa die Hälfte der F&E-Tätigkeiten dient der Entwicklung neuer Produkte, die andere Hälfte Modellversuchen, mit denen optimierte Systemlösungen für spezifische Kundenprojekte entwickelt werden. Ein ganz aktuelles Beispiel ist ein Krankenhaus in Spanien: hierfür wurden in einem 1:1-Modellraum Messungen und Optimierungen der Raumströmungen vorgenommen, die für das Wohlbefinden und die Genesung von Patienten sorgen. Weil Lüftungstechnik auch Auswirkungen auf die Akustik hat, stehen zwei technisch hochwertig ausgestattete Hallräume zur Verfügung. Diese sind mit ihrem Gewicht von 200 Tonnen auf Federn gelagert, um Verkehrserschütterungen auszuschalten. Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Bedeutung der Forschung und Entwicklung ist das im Oktober 2009 eröffnete "Internationale Center für Brandschutztechnik". Herzstück dort ist ein riesiger Brandprüfofen, in dem Brandschutz- und Entrauchungsklappen in verschiedenen Wand-Varianten und Einbausituationen getestet werden.

Geprägt von "Thinking ahead" oder wie der französische Romancier Victor Hugo, sieht Heinz Trox, der Sohn des Firmengründers, die Zukunft "als Chance für die Mutigen" an. Schon die Firmengründung 1951 war eine mutige Pioniertat: "1951 Lüftungsgitter zu bauen, war eine ausgesprochen kühne Idee meines Vaters," betont Heinz Trox. "Die Menschen wollten damals Wohnungen, Autos, Kühlschränke und schicke Kleider. Luftqualität war seinerzeit kein Thema. Im Gegenteil: Rauchende Schlote waren das Symbol für Beschäftigung und Wachstum."

Firmengründer Heinrich Trox hatte bereits im Alter von 30 Jahren Führungspositionen in der Großindustrie übernommen. Bis zum Kriegsende war er Vorstandsmitglied bei den Junkers Flugzeugwerken in Dessau. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg und dem einhergehenden Produktionsverbot für Flugzeuge führte es Heinrich Trox in die noch junge Lüftungs- und Klimabranche: Denn das Wissen um die aerodynamischen Gesetze und die Metallverarbeitung war hier von großem Nutzen. Während der Tätigkeit als Geschäftsführer eines deutschen Klimaanlagenbauers – damals wurden alle Komponenten für Lüftungs- und Klimaanlagen durch die Anlagenbauer selbst produziert – erkannte er die Marktchance in der spezialisierten Herstellung dieser Komponenten, wie beispielsweise Lüftungsgitter. Mit seinem Bruder Friedrich und sieben Mitarbeitern gründete er in einer 110 Quadratmeter großen Halle auf dem Grundstück seines Hauses in Neukirchen-Vluyn das Unternehmen Gebrüder TROX GmbH. Die Standortfrage wurde maßgeblich vom schulischen Bildungswunsch des Vaters für seine Söhne Klaus und Heinz geprägt. Das Neukirchen-Vluyner Julius-Stursberg-Gymnasium nahm nach dem Krieg 1945 als eines der ersten Gymnasien einen funktionierenden Schulbetrieb auf.

Den Erfolg des Unternehmens und darüber hinaus die Zukunft in der Tradition seines Vaters zu sichern, ist das Hauptanliegen von Heinz Trox, heute Hauptgesellschafter und Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates. Schon 1959 war er nach Maschinenbau- und Wirtschaftsstudium sowie mehrjährigen Auslandsaufenthalten in das Unternehmen eingetreten. Maßgeblich durch seine Erfahrungen geprägt, begann die Internationalisierung bereits in den 60-er Jahren, mit den Gründungen der Tochtergesellschaften in Großbritannien, Österreich, Italien und Frankreich. Konsequent wurde die globale Ausrichtung vorangetrieben. Beispiele: in den 70-er Jahren folgten Südafrika und Südamerika (Brasilien), in den 80-ern Hongkong und USA, 1994 Malaysia, 2000 Australien, 2001 China, 2006 Dubai, gefolgt von Indien und Mexiko in 2010.

Von der Unternehmenszentrale in Neukirchen-Vluyn aus werden die Fäden für die Aktivitäten auf fünf Kontinenten gezogen. TROX hat heute 25 Tochtergesellschaften und 13 Produktions-stätten in elf Ländern. 2010 erwirtschaftete das Unternehmen mit 3.200 Mitarbeitern weltweit über 350 Mio. EURO, in diesem Jahr sollen es 390 Mio. EURO werden. Für 2011 stehen weitere Innovationen ins Haus: die Entwicklung und Vermarktung von Klimazentralgeräten. Hierfür wird im Werk Anholt zurzeit die Produktionsfläche um 15.000 m² erweitert. Mit diesen Geräten kann der Kunde zukünftig "alles aus einer Hand" bekommen. Das Unternehmen bekennt sich mit der Investition von 20 Mio. EURO in den Standort zum Niederrhein. Insgesamt belaufen sich die Investitionen auf 50 Mio. EURO weltweit. Der Unternehmer hat eine Stiftung gegründet, die das Unternehmen in die Zukunft führen wird. Zusammen mit Udo Brinkmann und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Müller steht Lutz Reuter als Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung heute an der Spitze des operativen Geschäfts.

Neukirchen-Vluyn bleibt so auf Dauer der weltweit wichtige Standort für innovative Lüftungs- und Klimatechnik. 150 Ingenieure arbeiten dort an Problemlösungen für morgen.

 

TROX GmbH

Heinrich-Trox-Platz

47504 Neukirchen-Vluyn

Tel: +49 (0)2845/202-0

Fax: +49 (0)2845/202-265

trox@trox.de

www.trox.de