Knowledge near at hand

Here Hanns-Dieter Hüsch is mistaken. The cabaret artist from the Lower Rhine once claimed his fellow countrymen didn’t know anything but could explain everything. The people from the Lower Rhine do know something, but to make sure they can always join in the conversation, they like to work with those who are producing knowledge: with the researchers at RWTH Aachen University, the universities in Cologne, Düsseldorf and Duisberg-Essen, the research institute in Jülich and even the Dutch universities in Maastricht, Eindhoven, Nijmegen and Wageningen. Entrepreneurs in the Lower Rhine region never have to go far to commission or use excellent research. They often do, as the global demand for their products shows.

Yet the people between the Rhine and the Maas are not without their own resources either. For forty years now they have had the Lower Rhine University, which is one of the five biggest universities of applied sciences in Germany and has 10,300 students. It is internationally renowned, especially its textiles and clothing faculty. With innovative and international study programs, it has developed into the most popular university in North-Rhine Westphalia (capacity utilization 137 percent). In the ten faculties, chemistry, design, electrical engineering and IT, mechanical and process engineering, industrial engineering, health care (all at Krefeld), oecotrophology, social science, textiles and clothing technology, and business science (all Mönchengladbach), it offers more than 40 study programs, of which chemistry, mechanical and process engineering, industrial engineering, health care, textiles and clothing technology as well as tourism, catering and hospitality services are currently experiencing the most growth. There are also some European study programs. International degrees are possible for 19 Bachelor and 15 Master programs.

At the Lower Rhine University there are eight research institutes and four competence centers. The research institute for textiles and clothing is the recognized key research field of the state of North-Rhine Westphalia. It is complemented by the German Textiles Research Center North-West (DTNW) in Krefeld (as institute of the University of Duisburg-Essen) and the wfk-Cleaning Technology Research Institute in Krefeld as institute of the Lower Rhine University. The research institutes are also regularly honored for their work with the Research and Innovation Prize, which is awarded every three years by the Central Lower Rhine Chambers of Commerce (IHK Mittlerer Niederrhein).

The Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences opens its doors for the 2009 winter semester at its main site in Kleve and its second site at Kamp-Lintfort. Both campuses and their faculties Technology and Bionics, Life Sciences, Society and Economics and Communication and Environment offer the full range of study programs. The new student places were mostly created in the so-called MINT subjects (Mathematics, IT, Natural Sciences, Technology) and are offered as dual study programs, which offer a combination of theoretical study and vocational training. To start there are two subjects offered in English: “Bio Science and Health” and “International Business and Social Sciences”.

The University of Applied Sciences (FOM) also has a campus in the Lower Rhine region, in Neuss. It offers students and those already working the chance to complete a course of study while continuing to work, with lectures only held at the weekend or in the evenings, that leads to six Bachelor and seven Master degrees. The university was founded by employers and business associations in 1991, is officially recognized by the State of North-Rhine Westphalia and is accredited by Federal Council of Science.

The Lower Rhine region also has a wide network of vocational schools for young people. The vocational training is largely carried out by the Chambers of Industry and Commerce and the Chambers of Trades and Crafts. The agricultural sector has a school for training master craftsmen in Kleve and a Deula Training Center in Kempen; at the Straelen Horticultural Center, training is combined with intensive experimentation programs in greenhouses (currently: use of fertilizers, energy savings). The WestLb Academy at Krickenbeck Castle in Nettetal offers training for the top management echelons of the business world.

What did Hüsch say again? He certainly can’t have meant it seriously.


Lower Rhine University

Rhine-Waal University

FOM University of Applied Sciences

German Textiles Research Center North-West e.V.

wfk-Cleaning Technologie Research Institute e.V.

DEULA Rhineland GmbH Training Center

Chamber of Agriculture North-Rhine Westphalia

IHK Mittlerer Niederrhein

IHK Niederrhein

WestLB Akademy Krickenbeck Castle

X

Kurze Wege zum Wissen

Hier irrt Hanns-Dieter Hüsch. Der niederrheinische Kabarettist hat einmal behauptet, seine Landsleute wüssten nichts, könnten aber alles erklären. Die Niederrheiner wissen schon etwas, aber damit sie auch immer ganz vorn mitreden können, arbeiten sie gern mit denen zusammen, die Wissen produzieren: mit den Forschern an der RWTH Aachen, an den Universitäten Köln, Düsseldorf oder Duisburg-Essen, im Forschungszentrum Jülich oder auch mit den niederländischen Universitäten in Maastricht, Eindhoven, Nijmegen oder Wageningen. Für die Unternehmer am Niederrhein sind die Wege kurz, um exzellente Forschung in Auftrag zu geben oder zu nutzen. Dass sie dies häufig und erfolgreich tun, zeigen ihre weltweit nachgefragten Produkte.

Doch so „ganz ohne“ sind die Niederrheiner zwischen Rhein und Maas nun auch nicht. Sie haben seit knapp 40 Jahren die Hochschule Niederrhein, die mit 14.500 Studierenden zu den fünf größten Fachhochschulen in Deutschland zählt. Sie genießt vor allem im Bereich Textil und Bekleidung internationalen Ruf. Mit innovativen und internationalen Studiengängen entwickelte sie sich zur gefragtesten Hochschule in Nordrhein-Westfalen (Auslastung 137 Prozent). In den zehn Fachbereichen Chemie, Design, Elektrotechnik und Informatik, Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Gesundheitswesen (alle Krefeld), Oecotrophologie, Sozialwesen, Textil- und Bekleidungstechnik sowie Wirtschaftswissenschaften (alle Mönchengladbach) bietet sie mehr als 40 Studiengänge, von denen Chemie, Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und Gesundheitswesen, Textil- und Bekleidungstechnik sowie Tourismus, Catering und Hospitality Services aktuell die stärksten Zuwächse verzeichnen. Hinzu kommen einige Europäische Studiengänge. Internationale Abschlüsse sind in 19 Bachelor- und in 15 Masterstudiengängen möglich.

An der Hochschule Niederrhein gibt es acht Forschungsinstitute und vier Kompetenzzentren, von denen das Forschungsinstitut für Textil und Bekleidung anerkannter Forschungsschwerpunkt des Landes NRW für Textil ist. Es wird ergänzt durch das Deutsche Textilforschungszentrum Nord-West (DTNW) in Krefeld (als Institut der Universität Duisburg-Essen) und das wfk-Forschungsinstitut für Reinigungstechnologie in Krefeld als An-Institut der Hochschule Niederrhein. Mit ihren Entwicklungen sind die Forschungsinstitute auch immer wieder beim Forschungs- und Innovationspreis vertreten, den die IHK Mittlerer Niederrhein alle drei Jahre auslobt.

Mit dem Hauptstandort Kleve und der Nebenstelle Kamp-Lintfort nimmt die Hochschule Rhein-Waal zum Wintersemester 2009 ihren Betrieb auf. Sie bietet an beiden Standorten mit ihren Fachbereichen Technologie und Bionik, Life Sciences, Gesellschaft und Ökonomie und Kommunikation und Umwelt jeweils das vollständige Angebot einer Hochschule. Die neuen Studienplätze wurden hauptsächlich in den so genannten MINT-Fächern (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik) geschaffen und werden als duale Studiengänge angeboten, bei denen Studium und Berufsausbildung miteinander kombiniert sind. Zum Start gab es zwei Einstiegsfächer in englischer Sprache: „Bio Science and Health“ und „International Business and Social Sciences“".

Die Fachhochschule für Ökonomie und Management (FOM) ist am Niederrhein in Neuss vertreten. Sie bietet Berufstätigen und Auszubildenden ein berufsbegleitendes Studium in Abend und Wochenendvorlesungen, das zu sechs Bachelor- oder sieben Masterabschlüssen führt. Die 1991 von Wirtschaftsverbänden gegründete Hochschule ist vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen anerkannt und vom Wissenschaftsrat akkreditiert.

Der Niederrhein verfügt über ein dichtes Netz von Berufskollegs für die schulische Ausbildung junger Leute. Die berufliche Weiterbildung leisten vor allem die Industrie- und Handelskammern und Handwerkskammern. Die Landwirtschaft verfügt in Kleve über eine Meisterschule und in Kempen über ein Deula-Bildungszentrum; im Gartenbauzentrum Straelen wird die Weiterbildung mit intensiven Versuchsanordnungen in Gewächshäusern verbunden (aktuell: Düngemitteleinsatz, Energieeinsparung). Weiterbildung für die Führungsetagen der Wirtschaft bietet die WestLb-Akademie Schloss Krickenbeck in Nettetal.

Wie war das noch mal mit Hüsch? Sicher von ihm nicht ernst gemeint.

Links

Hochschule Niederrhein

Hochschule Rhein-Waal

Fachhochschule für Ökonomie und Management

Deutsches Textilforschungszentrum Nord-West e.V.

Wfk Forschungsinstitut für Reinigungstechnologie e.V.

DEULA Rheinland GmbH Bildungszentrum

Landwirtschaftskammer Nordrhein-Westfalen

IHK Mittlerer Niederrhein

IHK Niederrhein

WestLB Akademie Schloss Krickenbeck